We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park
2202 Roosevelt Ave., San Antonio, TX 78210
210-932-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 330 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Biking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical area that stretches nine miles and contains four important 18th-century missions.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The historical park encompasses all of the San Antonio mission except for the Alamo. It is headquartered at Mission San Jose which is the most well preserved of all the missions. Definitely spend some time in the headquarters building and watch the movie. It gives a good overview and feel for the era.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    216
    21
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love the missions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I were married in one of the California Missions, so we were anxious to see the Texas ones. We weren't disappointed. The style is a little different than those built in California, so we really enjoyed seeing them. Everyone should visit these wonderful gems of the past.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a Day of Exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The four missions that make up the park provide a rich and fascinating history to any visit to San Antonio. Each one offers a different look at mission life. If you can only see one mission, be sure to see Mission San Jose.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well worth a visit. We used the "trolley" to reach the mission (2) from the Alamo. Excellet federal guides at the sites. Recommend worth several hours if you like history and we do

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“San Jose Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I did my bridal portraits at the park in November. There are so many interesting and rustic objects to add to the setting. The portraits came out great! Very pleased. Because I used a photographer, we had to get a permit, but the process is very simple to get one.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Missions National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Antonio Missions National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.