We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT, EXCEPT FOR MINOR FLAW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1002 South Laredo Street, I-35 Exit 155A, San Antonio, TX 78204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #84 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GREAT, EXCEPT FOR MINOR FLAW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Was there on Sunday night 6/24.12, with family due to home's air condition breaking down.

Nice room and amenities, excellent staff, except for locust infestation. Manager changed our room, but by midnight we had killed four in our new room.

Aside from this problem, i really liked the room. It had everything a 31/2 star hotel would have. Fridge, microwave, shampoos etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    52
    12
    15
See reviews for
109
75
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

this location is a little out of the way but was fine. The staff was helpful in getting us down town without a car. They were also great in helping us get a taxi and make it to the airport on time. It was a nice stay, clean large rooms. I was here for two nights and everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were in San Antonio for only one night and chose this hotel for several reasons. There were seven of us travelling, this hotel has some rooms with 3 king size beds, so this worked great for us, offering a good price and only having to pay for one room. Christina was very efficient and helpful at check in, the room/hotel was very clean, they offer continental breakfast, waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, boiled eggs, toast, cereal etc, standard fare, clean area and well maintained. I did not use the pool but it looked clean. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, this hotel is a ten to fifteen minute walk to downtown and the river walk. We walked back at 8:00 pm ish, following the river as long as possible, we did not feel uncomfortable in this area of town at all. If we ever return to San Antonio we will stay here again, great value hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I booked the hotel because in the description we thought it is located close to the city and to the Alamo. Also it was quite cheap.
The first assumption was an error, the second turned out to be good value for the price.
The staff was very friendly and the service excellent. We found even an business center which allowed us to print out the tickets from seaworld. I appreciated thsi really. The rooms/ suites are extremely big. We had 2 King Size beds plus one sofa, kitchen, fridge, microwave, everything we needed. The room was clean and not smelling, even the carpet already was quite ugly. In general the hotel needs some renovation. The pool was indoor pool and also in average condition. Free parking, free internet and an acceptable breakfast completed the good value for money feeling

On the downside - it is possible to walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk but you will barely make it under 20Min.The breakfast area was far too small for the number of guest. They have in total maybe 5 tables... so we took the food to the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband during our stay in San Antonio. The room was a nice room. A little dated, but nice and clean. It is near (about a mile) near a lot of the main sites in San Antonio. Good location. Near by is a good barbecue restaurant called Bill Miller's Bar-B-Q. The clerks at the front desk were helpful and very nice. The breakfast in the moring was warm and delicious and plenty of it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

If your looking for a family room with lots of space for a 70-80 dollar price this is a great hotel. I have stayed there for over two weeks on business. Nice pillowtop beds. The hotel is a little worn on the outside. The inside is renovated and newer looking. I don't know what the neighborhood complaint is about. Most areas in the downtown are older so maybe that is it. It is near the marketplace along with several other medium priced hotels. If you like a king size bed you can't get double and triple king rooms with kitchenette and full size refrig anywhere else in downtown. Great value for downtown San Antonio.

Room Tip: Triple kings is a plus. They also have double kings with a pull out sofa. Standard rate for all of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Front desk clerks were all very helpful. Spa & indoor pool were nice - pool was a bit small but over all nice. I had the room with the whirlpool tub - very worth it! Our room had a full size fridge and microwave. Good location. We walked to market square - was around 1/2 mile but seemed longer - better than paying for taxi or dealing with traffic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites

Address: 1002 South Laredo Street, I-35 Exit 155A, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#81 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers king beds in all rooms whether 1, 2, or even 3! Less than a mile to downtown attractions, shopping, and restaurants. Five blocks to Market Square. One mile to Riverwalk, Alamo, Alamo Dome, Convention Center, LaVillita, Institute of TX Cultures, and Tower of America. Free high-speed Internet access, fitness room, and indoor pool on property. 100 Percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Best Western San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.