We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Santa Rosa South, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Avenida Guadalupe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #102 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great central location. Priced well for a Courtyard. Free parking, which in the area is not common. Small issue is room was not available (ready) at check-in around 3pm. Had reservation for weeks. Additionally, the next morning, even with "do not disturb" sign out, housekeeping came pounding on the door a few minutes after 12 and she was quite rude. Check out is 12.

However, room was clean, and the price/location can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
45
43
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I like staying on the Riverwalk but this is a low cost alternative when I am only spending one or two nights. It is walking distance to the downtown attractions as well as to the market. Nice rooms, pleasant staff, and quiet.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This property is a 5-7 minute walk from Market Square and about a 10 minute walk to the RiverWalk. There's free parking and free internet. There is a shuttle stop on the corner so you are not forced to walk if you don't want to. I would definitely stay here again, it was close and convenient to everything. You can also park on Commerce St or Market St for around $7-10 and then continue walking to the Alamo, the Tower of Americas, La Viletta, etc. Hotel was clean, all the staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay again when in this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an older courtyard with room and lobby remodels. No issues with either. Nice place in the center of the downtown area. Easy walk to many places. Easy to get to right off of the Hwy. Here are two issues I encountered and I only bring them up due to the very high expectations I have for Courtyard properties, which are alway my first choice for business travel: 1) I left my iphone charger in my office and asked the desk if they had a loaner I could use over night (most Courtyards do). Was told this location had a loaner, but were locked up and could not be accessed until 8:30AM the next morning...(did make sense to me, but it was my fault for leaving my charge behind) advise to Courtyard - make these available anytime during a customer stay. Lease them out and if a customer walks out with them, charge it to their room. 2) The next morning, I only wanted a coffee and the person at the lobby counter said "well enjoy your breakfast". I took that as "why aren't you buying anything to eat here". One word at the end of the sentence "coffee" instead of "breakfast" would have earned this Courtyard an "Excellent" review from me.

Room Tip: On the opposite side from the street and highway if you want quite. Truck traffic early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

First our price was great since it was derived from Marriott points.
First welcome was from Pam upon check in and she was friendly and very accommodating with directions and tips.
The hotel is ideally situated for the River Walk and you can actually park your car and walk. No extra fees for valet parking or overpriced parking to visit the local restaurants.
The hotel bar service was nice and we enjoyed the bartender's company.
2drawbacks - one: if you find a flyer under your door for Geovani's Pizzeria, don't order. Even though they claim to be pizza experts, far from it. Two: the outside furniture needed some cleaning attention.
Final say - we will stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel...so clean and inviting! Free and excellent coffee in pump-pots downstairs in the lobby for guests. There is a deli counter just off the lobby where you can buy breakfast sandwiches and/or lunches and Starbucks Coffee:) There are plenty of tables and chairs as well as booths to sit at for meals, or to enjoy a cocktail from the small bar adjacent to the deli. The desk clerk, Michael, helped us find our way to the River Walk and the Alamo, and when asked for suggestions for lunch venues, pointed us to the Guenther House Restaurant which was nearby. The Guenther House (an old mill on the river) serves breakfast and lunch..no alcohol.. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and would recommend it to others. Our room was so spacious and so clean, i didn't want to leave! Michael went out of his way to make us welcome! Thumbs up!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Samantha C, Property Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review
July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've gone to SA a few times since I moved to Houston. I love the location of this hotel. Very close to Market Square which is nice enough, quaint and great place for a margarita. Also, not too far from the River Walk, Alamo, main part of the city. It is about 5 minutes to walk to Market Square and about 15 to the River Walk - another great place for a margarita. Anyway, the hotel is a Courtyard and meet the expectations of such. When I've been the price seems very good for how central you are in SA.

Room Tip: If you are there on a weekend, I'd ask for an end room. I suspect a lot of people stay there to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha C, Property Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Samantha C, Property Sales Coordinator at Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this review
July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at the San Antonio Courtyard Downtown Market Square. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to the San Antonio area.


Thank You,

Samantha Cooley
Courtyard by Marriott Market Square
Property Coordinator
210-229-9449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 600 Santa Rosa South, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown
San Antonio Courtyard
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.