We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Santa Rosa South, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Avenida Guadalupe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #102 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overall, good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I like this place because it has free self parking, close to downtown but not in downtown, and the rates are pretty good.

A couple things that annoy me are being a silver member I am placed next to the ice machine. Not a nice sound at 1am. They offer bistro coupons which is a nice bonus but my bill is never right when I check out. I always have to call and have them remove charges and update the bill.

I keep coming back so that's a good sign.

Room Tip: If you like the smell of bbq, ask for a room facing Cesar Chavez. If you don't, ask for a court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    64
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
45
43
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebulis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Frequent visitor to San Antonio but first at this hotel. Above average hotel ( but not 4 dots) in a location that is nice for a short walk to Market Square and a longer but reasonable walk to the Riverwalk. Convenient to I-35 exit and parking is no problem, unlike the maze of streets downtown and expensive valet parking, This hotel is great for those commuting South to work outside of downtown. Rooms are just ho-hum - nothing special (for a Marriott). I had a handicap room that had a wheelchair accessible shower and built-in seat. One problem with a shower you can roll in a wheelchair, is no real lip to keep water in. The floor was puddled until I learned to better manage the shower stream. The new lobby design is good with a limited food and beverage selection. Overall a good hotel for business trip. This is the 7th hotel I have stayed in San Antonio and this ranks mid-pack at 4th. The courtyard in the center of the hotel seems inviting with nice outdoor areas, but did not spend time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel was clean and newly updated. We loved the outdoor sitting area and the breakfast bistro in the morning was great. I liked the quiet evening we had. No noisy guests to be found. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was our getway weekend. Booked in advance on line. A Little disappointment for it being a Marriott, but the price was for room was good , free parking, close to market square. This not a place for you if u want to sleep in. Maids are up and down the wall yelling "housekeeping" and knocking on doors. Doors and walls are very thin, even with our AC being on. we could still hear the noise. Vanity was very small. Honesty I would think twice about staying here again. Several other hotels around this one, I would check those out first.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great, Large Patios, all others have a very tiny patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT CHARLOTTE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent two nights here at the end of March 2012. We were very satisfied with everything. The location was great and the free on site parking was wonderful. The Riverwalk was within a reasonable walking distance. When we didn't feel like walking we used the yellow bus route that has a stop adjacent to the hotel parking lot. We did not have to use the car at all during our stay. Unless you are familiar with downtown San Antonio, I would avoid trying to drive and park to see the various attractions. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The bed was comfortable. We did not have any complaints with this facility. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. Checking in/out was a breeze. It was very easy to get back on I-10 from this location. If we ever get back to San Antonio, we want to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Spent six days here in mid-February. Pleased by everything: price, location (an easy walk to Market Square and the Riverwalk - for non-walkers, the Yellow bus stopped right at the hotel and for $1.10 (25 cent for Seniors, free on weekends) was a quick ride downtown . The hotel is in a quiet spot but conveniently right off Rte. 38 - to Austin - and very close to Rte. 10, which leads to the outlying villages. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, morning, noon or night, and our room was very clean and cozy. A nice place to come back to after exploring Downtown San Antonio. It's also right next to the lovely King William Historical District . And a little plus - right across the street is the bakery for the Bill Miller BBQ chain - the best pecan pie fresh out of the oven! For two New Yorkers, the hotel added a lot to our very favorable impressions of Texas and Texans. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing Cesar Chavez Blvd. was quiet and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The cost for the hotel is less than most in the downtown area. Since we were traveling around SA then we were not interested in convenience to the Riverwalk area or other typical walking areas near downtown. The plus is there is no charge for parking, which is common at most of the downtown hotels ($25-$35 a day at most hotels). Very convenient drive to Alamodome - straight down the street and turn left at the dome to enter parking lots. Room was clean, staff was very friendly, and bed very comfortable. We have stayed here twice now and will continue to use this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 600 Santa Rosa South, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Hotel San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown
San Antonio Courtyard
San Antonio Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.