We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #73 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for three nights this week. Very clean. Comfortable rooms. Room had laminate floor, no carpet. Only draw back is neighborhood. You have to walk a bit to get to the good part of the Riverwalk. Great mattress but cheap hotel pillows. Good value for price though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    169
    64
    26
    19
See reviews for
107
144
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in late September, the room was spacious including a kitchenette. Comfy beds. The location was a little bit out of the main area of San Antonio. We’d walked the Riverwalk to the main area, about 15-20min walk, would be quicker walking on the streets, but the area wasn’t all that great to walk though. Parking Lot is across the street, and fills up on a evening. No complimentary breakfast, but wouldn’t hesitate to try another Indigo hotel in another city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for four days. I can say that I will be going back again. The hotel was clean, conformable, the rooms are spacious and very well equipped. The bartender and front desk were very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We do hope to see you back with us on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a week at this property on business in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed. The location is on the Riverwalk; not the busiest part of the Riverwalk, but still a nice spot. Most restaurants on the Riverwalk were a 10 minute walk; there were a couple good ones, however, that were closer (Ocho in the Hotel Havana for instance). The rooms in the hotel were modern and large with high ceilings. The mattress was excellent and the HVAC kept the room nice and cool. There is a Keurig machine with complimentary k cups in the room and a small fridge. Parking is tricky in downtown, but I was always able to find a space in the hotel's lot directly across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the ice machines are rather noisy, so it might be best to avoid a room next to the machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. enterprise texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the last several years and I have to say this hotel has the nicest staff I have ever encountered. This hotel is one of the cleanest as well. The décor is very modern and rooms are very large. The beds are super comfortable and the décor in rooms also quite modern...if you enjoy your morning coffee they even has kerig coffee makers in every room. I can't think of any negative except maybe the location is pretty far from all the main attractions and water taxi only comes by every 30 minutes. We ended up walking to the market area to eat and it was a long walk and we were pretty sweaty by the time we got there. If we go back I will try to get a little closer to the market area, but if you prefer quite then stay here!!! I would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel on N. St. Marys was a huge surprise. It was convenient (right off both I-35 and 281, and backed up to the river), spotless and freshly redone. Our room was spacious and had upgraded amenities. Service in the eating area was slow but the waiter was great. We would definitely stay there again. Oh yeah, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

So enjoyed our stay here for two nights. The hotel is crisp, clean and modern. Accommodations were roomy and extremely comfortable with great mattresses on the beds and scads of pillows. Quiet, too. Loved the Keurig coffeemaker in the room - a cup of coffee first thing is always welcome. Bathroom had nice soft towels, Aveda products and a terrific shower. The location right on the Riverwalk was fantastic and it was a joy to sit on the back patio and enjoy the day or evening. The staff could not have been more professional, personable and helpful especially Ramon and others whose name I missed. My only slight criticism would be the salad I ate for dinner - shrimp and avocado - 3 smallish shrimp and 3 thin avocado slices were a little skimpy for a dinner. But still "excellent!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words!!! We are constantly striving to provide the best service to fit each and every one of our guest. We are so pleased to hear that Ramon made you feel comfortable and taken care of while you stayed with us! Please visit us again on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.