We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend here. I was a little concerned that it was on the Riverwalk, but once we arrived, I knew it was going to be great. It's located about a 10-15 minute walk (1.5-2 miles by foot (developed walkway); a few minutes by River Taxi) from all the madness of the touristy restaurant and shop area in a nice little quiet section of the river. I ran in the morning, and it was one of the nicest runs I've had in this city. The Riverwalk is beautiful in the early morning. The hotel has a nice restaurant/bar area inside, and a lovely outdoor porch/terrace area where you can enjoy a meal, drinks, dessert, or quiet conversation. The pool is nicely situated to one side of the terrace area. The two reasons I didn't give it five stars: 1) they could do a little something with the parking area; it just doesn't give me a warm fuzzy. If it were gated or had a guard house with 24-hour surveillance, I'd feel a lot better about parking my car there. That little section of downtown is suffering from urban blight, and although that is not the fault of the hotel, I feel like it is the responsibility of the hotel to safeguard their guest's property as much as possible, and 2) the terrace bar area speakers are too loud and can be heard in the rooms overlooking the river if you are an "early to bed" person - meaning 10pm. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is the one to have. The outdoor bar can be a little noisy from 10p-midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please ensure that we do take the safety of our guest serious. We do have security that does patrol the parking lot and property. We have also have made corrections to ensure that the music on the patio is fixed. Thank you once again for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    182
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
111
157
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Loved the hotel. Good location on the river, only a 5-10 walk to riverwalk restaurants and attractions. Also, easily accessible to trolleys and riverboat taxis in case your not a walker. The staff was very friendly, especially Alex, at the front desk. I didn't like that no one knew where eateries were or any local favorites or directions to places. The staff was very friendly, but could be a little more knowledgeable of the city. I also didn't care for the balcony, it's not private, no late night romance. The balconies only either side of you are only separated by a metal see through partition, not a wall. The hotel is very clean and room was very spacious. We traveled during the week so it was quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a totally private balcony, they have a few but you have to ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Since I was not familiar with the city but wanted to stay on the Riverwalk, I decided to go with this hotel. Booked with Hotel Tonight App on the same day. I have used this app multiple times all over the country with no issues. Unfortunately this time, it took over 45 minutes to check in. The person working at the front desk was not familiar with Hotel Tonight and could not find our reservation upon check in. After I asked him to please check again, he finally found the fax with our reservation confirmation. For the inconvenience, he waived our parking fee.

The hotel was not as close as the name of the hotel would lead you to believe. It was a good 25 minute walk to the main parts of the Riverwalk.

The rooms were large and very comfortable.

However, as a tourist from out of town that does not know the area, I would recommend to spend a little extra and stay elsewhere. I will not stay here again when I return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I apologize you were unhappy with the location of the hotel. I will discuss the check in process with the Front Desk to ensure this does not happen again to another guest. We have a couple of newer employees who are still in training and may be one of the reasons for the longer check in. Your comments have been very helpful and we will continue to improve our methods in order to deliver great customer service. Once again, thank you for staying with us and writing a review of your recent stay.

Holly Evans - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staff was nice, room was clean and well appointed, very comfy bed and pillows. We booked a balcony room facing the river. There is construction going on across the river, and they were working 3 shifts the first 2 nights of our stay, so it was too noisy to sit on the balcony. As well, there is music piped over speakers on the terrace, so once the construction ceased on our last two nights, it was still too noisy to just enjoy the river.

We didn't mind the walk to the downtown riverwalk area. There's also a water taxi that stops right at the hotel every 30-40 minutes that can pick you up and take you downtown if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the nearby construction noise. We are hoping this construction project will be completed by the end of the year and that will no longer be a disturbance to our guests. Unfortunately, all the surrounding businesses have to be patient and understanding when a new development is in process. The construction site will be the home to the Tobin Performing Arts Center which is going to be an awesome addition to the city of San Antonio as it will be the new home to the San Antonio Symphony. Nevertheless, we apologize that the construction noise was a distraction. We hope you will stay with us again on future trips to San Antonio.

Holly Evans - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel in San Antonio with a friend. It is out on the Museum end of the River Walk. The walk to the main Riverwalk area was a brisk 20 minutes, but there are water taxis( wait can be upto 45 minutes for one to come by at any taxi stop) and street cabs too. The entire staff was very friendly and a couple of shout outs to Alex at the front desk, and James in the resteraunt. Always a smile and very helpful and just a joy to talk to! I met Luis in sales and he was very happy and proud of the Indigo. Very boutiqueish and pleasant not the huge properties you see along the Riverwalk. The resturant is open only at night, but they do have a garb and go cooler with soft beverages and water, muffins, to die for cinnamon rolls, and sandwhiches, all made fresh each day.
This is a small jewel in Riverwalk Crown of SanAntiono but it shines bright in my eyes.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: They have Water view and city view go for the waterview!!! They also have a jr suite that connect to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Once again, Holly and her staff, made my stay spectacular. Last week I forgot to make my reservation so I send her (Holly) an email to check if there was a room available and she responded "Hugo – I have made your reservation" Even thou it is "Fiesta"
Frank and his crew are always attentive of all of the customers at the bar and takes orders for the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just stayed a week here on our second trip to this hotel. It was good but not great. The rooms are good, but need a little touching up here and there. We had a problem with the smoke detector and the exhaust fan in the bathroom, but on our previous stay the room was great. About a 10-15 minute walk from the main attractions on the Riverwalk which is not bad, but after a week you get a little tired of the walk. Only about a $5 cab ride from the hotel to the main spots downtown. An idea they should look into is vouchers or discount cards for the Rio Taxi that picks up at the back of the hotel... We wanted to ride that but the price is steep. All in all this is a nice enough hotel. We enjoy staying here when we are in town.

Room Tip: The River View room we had was a little small... the first time we stayed here we had a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Billy H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad to know that our hotel location was convenient for your activities. Please accept my apologies for any discomfort you encountered with the room accommodations during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments and for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again soon and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#87 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.