We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #66 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! The rooms are complete eye candy. The decor is superb and the room is very spacious. The staff is friendly and there is even a Keurig coffee maker in the room! We didn't want to leave. Room service is very reasonably priced. Perfect for newlyweds. Only downside is parking is not covered. 10 minute walk to Riverwalk is important because of all the food we ate. 9.4!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Congratulations on your nuptials. We are so glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your kind review. We defiantly try our best. Once again congratulations, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    208
    73
    29
    20
See reviews for
130
178
15
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for a small vacation. the problem is it is very far away from all the restaurants. yes it is very quiet but it is also very far. even though you're on the Riverwalk you have to get a taxi on the Riverwalk the cost 15 dollars. love you anywhere besides the Riverwalk is horrible. the buildings look abandoned and there are some nasty bars around. the area is missing some lighting. parking is 13 dollars and 50 cents. and by what they're charging they should at least have security. they have nothing of the psychics just a big light and that is it. we parked nearby. fortunately nothing happened....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We do apologize that the experience on the Riverwalk was not to your liking. We make every effort to ensure our guests are comfortable within our surroundings. Please ensure we do have security for the parking lot, as well as the property itself. We hope that you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I think this hotel needs to hire a new maid staff. When I pulled back the bed sheets there was a ton of short black hair scattered in the bed. There is NO WAY the sheets had been changed from the previous occupant. IF the sheets had been changed then they were changed by a Gorilla. When I first walked in the room it smelled dirty and stale. Like dirty sheets now that I think back. I called the front desk and canceled my reservation for the next night and I booked somewhere else for tonight. IF they would of asked me I would of told them why I was canceling, but they didn't. I will say the guy that checked me in at the front desk on 1/30 around 7pm was SUPER nice...HE was the only good comment I can give. I will not be back...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We do apologize for your experience. We have reviewed your comments with the staff and management. We sincerely regret the occurrence and are committed to ensure something like this doesn’t happen again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Found room 227 clean, spacious and with a nice view of the Riverwalk. Excellent staff service - very helpful and responsive. Alex and Chase were outstanding! Some construction noise at building across the river, but should be temporary and certainly not heard in the room. Very contemporary, fresh and very clean. Nice to have a riverboat taxi stop right at the hotel. We recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and feedback. It is always wonderful to hear such great news. I will be sure to share your comments with Alex and Chase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathis, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unexpectedly encountered this lovely 3 story pet friendly hotel steps from the river walk. Quaint courtyard entry with wrought iron, flowers and a fountain. Beautiful, bright, HUGE, well appointed king room with small wet bar and Keurig coffee/tea maker. Outdoor patio area with comfy lounge furniture. Small pool. Would have rated this accommodation a "5" had there not been a $14.00 PER DAY parking fee.

Room Tip: Request a river walk view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights here on our first visit to San Antonio.

Location: While it is located on the Riverwalk, it is quite a distance from the restaurants and shops. For some, this might be a disadvantage, for us, not so much. We enjoyed the walk to the "tourist" areas. The Riverwalk is beautifully landscaped, clean, and well maintained. So a nice walk in such pleasant surroundings is delightful.

Staff: All of the staff which we dealt with were very professional and helpful.

Facility: Very light, bright, and fresh. Our room, while small, was well appointed and comfortable.

Conclusion: One can certainly stay in more conveinently located (to shops/restaurants). However, for a good hotel, in a good location, this one would be hard to beat, especially when costs are compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting on the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel was clean; staff was very friendly and accomodating; cute little restaurant area and bar. The back patio is right along the Riverwalk - albeit the quiet part of the riverwalk. Just thru the pool area and across the street is the amazing restaurant/bar, Ocho Lounge. Loved the courtyard area and the lobby was nice. Also - hotel was pet friendly which included other guests. No snide remarks or faces. Yay!

The only downfall of this place is the view from the streetside. It's not their fault that the buildings across the street seem abandoned and/or shady. But it is a bit scary since the parking lot is on that side. BTW: parking is not free but not a bad price either. Not sure that they have security in the parking lot - you might want to ask.

Room Tip: Ask for Riverwalk view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear audreymc13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#66 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.