We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were passing thru town and found this hotel listed on a last minute booking site. The price and location were perfect. The man at the desk helped to make sure our booking went thru and was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean, roomy and modern. Being on the river walk is really nice. Very safe and lots of restaurants and bars. We did have breakfast. The service was fine and the food was average hotel food. The parking is across the street and guarded at night. We would stay at another Hotel Indigo in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Great to hear about your stay. Glad you enjoyed the amenities. With over 30 Hotel Indigos to choose from, hoping we will stay your favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    163
    63
    24
    18
See reviews for
101
140
14
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my first experience at an Indigo Hotel. The people I was going to be working with in San Antonio recommended it, so I decided to give it a try and I was very pleased. The clean, minimalistic and modern design was very attractive. Hard wood floors in the guest rooms -- very nice! The hotel was extremely comfortable and catered to business travelers very well.

The staff (front desk and bar) could have been better. They did their jobs adequately, but only that. They hardly went out of their way to make a guest feel welcome. They simply did their jobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Indigo in October 2012 for 3 nights.The room was extremely spacious however the bathroom and the shower was in a terrible,out of date state. We were rather disappointed in the evening receptionist's behaviour; she made us feel like she is doing us a favour by checking us in and assisting us.Anyway, the location of the hotel is quite ok;it;s about 20 minutes walk away from the centre,on the Riverwalk. As it has already been mentioned,there is a car park across the road for a $13/day charge.WIth regards to the hotel restaurants, we did not actually eat at the hotel.Based on previous reviews we decided not to;instead we ate out on the Riverwalk;lots of nice restaurants to choose from with a beautiful view.
Shame about the poor customer service; I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Indigo Nov 9 thru 12 and were very happy with our room (huge and clean), the hotel staff (courteous and helpful), and the location (right on the Riverwalk). The only two things that we would want people to know is that the parking is across the street from the hotel. It is an extra $13.00 per night. There are a few handicap spaces in the front courtyard if you need them, but you will still pay the parking fee. The only other downside is that the access to the Riverwalk is down a long flight of exterior stairs. There is no flat walk out or elevator access to the Riverwalk and if you have trouble climbing stairs or you are wheelchair bound, you will not be able to access the Riverwalk from the hotel. That being said, we will probably stay at the Indigo next time we're in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Riverwalk in San Antonio for a TPTA Conference October 26 - 28, 2012. My group and I had a fantastic time. The hotel had easy access to the Riverwalk either by foot or river taxi. I had a balcony room overlooking the river, it was great. The rooms were clean & well decorated, and very quiet. Nice flat screen TV's. The restaurant was excellent. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I received a handicapped and durty room, with stain on sheets and hair on the floor. The shower couldn't be used by tallers persons like my hysband and I.
A little bit far from the restaurants and all the cool zone. The clients had to wait a lot for breakfast. They had only 2 fews waitress for all the customers.
A bad experience that I don't recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room in front the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I’ve reviewed your comments in detail with our staff. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be reviewing your comments with our department heads to ensure these issues don’t occur again. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a room here on a website for a great price. We loved it! The front desk staff was very nice and informative. The room was wonderful with a very comfy bed and spacious.
The hotel IS on the Riverwalk, but not the part where most of the activity is. To get to the more active part of the Riverwalk, you can take the circuitous route from the river level at the hotel, or you take a short walk at street level. The River Taxi is accessible from the hotel, but I would not suggest trying that out unless you have an unlimited amount of time to spare to get to the other part of the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.