We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have stayed at 3 hotels now in san antonio...this one would be the worst....the rooms were not ready on arrival..and when they were they had not been cleaned properly.
This hotel has laminate wood floors. A very cold feeling...and tey allow pets..so dogs everywhere.
Its a 15-20 mins walk to the alamo, and when walking home from dinner on the riverwalk, i did not feel as safe as I should.
They state thay are on the riverwalk...but beware, I would not call this the riverwalk proper.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear travelforsnow,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received room accommodations which were unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    160
    63
    24
    18
See reviews for
100
138
14
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just spent spring break at this charming hotel. Service and staff were fantastic and went out of their way to be helpful in every aspect of our trip.

Rooms were very large and they, as the lobby, had a great contemporary style which was unique considering the exterior had a true San Antonio hacienda look to it.

Yes, it was on the river walk, however not in the direct activity location of the main happenings of the river walk such as the shopping or food districts. HOWEVER, we soon found that we could walk along the downtown streets of SA (on the sidewalks) and then get back on the RWalk and were quickly back in the action. No problems for us, nor our younger children.

Nice Place.

Room Tip: Choose room on the left side (facing entrance) to be away from City street morning noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWIndigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to San Antonio as well as your hotel experience. Please feel free to recommend us to your friends and family. We are very proud of our quiet location and accommodating staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again on future trips to San Antonio.

Holly Evans - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Quick nights stop on our way back from South Padre Island. The room had hard wood floors, with a bright blew flower wall as the back drop of the beds. Big, comfortable beds at that! Had a "living" room area with couch and chair, table with chairs, and a fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. Placed in the heart of the city, it was close enough to walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Tons of stuff to do close by. Felt safe enough to walk a mile to the store at night and back from the Riverwalk at night. Amazing flowers, views, and drawings on the walls. Very nice!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have view of a public parking area, pretty gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The lobby was contemporary, comfy, and relaxed. The service was superb, and the Rooms were WOW. Very large and well designed. Great Shower and incredible bed and sleep experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Although it is on the Riverwalk, it is quite q ways from downtown if you actually walk on the Riverwalk. The hotel has beautiful hard wood floors. The entrance looks like you are entering a hacienda. The staff was helpful except the did not call as they said they would when our room was ready.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here last month when our Grandson graduated BMT at Lackland AFB. It is at the very end of the Riverwalk, so it is very quiet and secluded. The only downside is that it is a good 45 minute walk to restaurants and shops, we took the river taxi $10 per day per person but worth it. The rooms are nice, the staff VERY helpful. The one big downside $13 a day to park and on the weekend it is hard to find a place in the lot across the street. It is about a 10 mile drive to the Valley Hi main gate at Lackland AFB.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We really enjoyed the location off the beaten path, about 15 min walk along the river or 10 min walk down Navarro St. to the downtown business district. Blue trolley and bus stops around the corner, too, and $ 4.- all day bus pass available. Remodeled in modern style bright colors and very clean; comfortable bed. We stayed in 228, a king bed river view room, which was spacious and had a refrigerator but no microwave. Good sized bathroom with large shower. I would strongly suggest this type of room since the cheaper rooms have views of a bleak industrial neighborhood and seem to be much smaller. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants, since all kinds of great options available on the central river walk, see those reviews.This is an "animal friendly" facility. We saw one dog on the patio once. We did not find any animal hair and did not hear any dogs barking during our stay. The outdoor pool is tiny.
Downsides:
1. Several front office staff were quite quite rude.
2. Cigarette smoke from the patio drifts up to the balconies.
3. Noise from a bar across the river was unbearable the first night. We called the front office and were blown off, but noise stopped just a few minutes later and did not bother us again for the rest of our week long stay.
4. Construction noise from the Municipial Auditorium construction site did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Upper floor river view room with balcony would be strongly suggested since the cheaper rooms have vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#69 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.