We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites) (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is on the river walk which we enjoyed. It was however a fairly long walk to the active, restaurant portion of the riverwlk. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The rating I saw on the internet was a 4 star rating; I thought that was too high. I felt like 21/2 to 3 stars would have been appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    182
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
111
157
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dnpinva
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Terrific stay. However, don't be alarmed by your first impression that this hotel is not in a very good area. It looks a bit industrial with warehouses and a few decrepit buildings. The area was safe, however. It is just North of all the commotion and excitement of the riverwalk and a short walk (15 minutes) to the "gay strip." It is also a pleasant 10-15 walk to the main tourist area of town, and the riverwalk is by and large well lit at night. The room was nice, although it would've been nicer if we had gotten one of the rooms with balconies overlooking the riverwalk. The rooms are large with nice paintings on the wall. The bathroom was small but pleasant. Great vanity, lighting. It would've been nice if the shower had glass all around instead of half glass, half curtain, which got in the way of showering. The TV was superb - large, great sound, great channel selection. The beds were very comfy. The gym was small but had some cardio equipment, very limited weights with only one combo weight machine. Parking was close by and convenient. Wifi is free throughout the hotel. The coffee/tea bar was very handy to have on-site. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The rooms were nice. Location average. Service poor. Overall an average stay at an average hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

the hotel location is on a scenic part of the riverwalk, but about 15 minutes away from the main section of walk, where restaurants and bars are. It's a great area for jogging or walking, since this part of the walk is not densely developed. The walk appears safe after dark and is well landscaped and has a good view of the locks on the river. Getting back to the hotel, there is a nice patio on the river, but a glass of wine was $10 at the bar and restaurant. A hamburger was $12. For these prices, I expected better quality and quantity. The hotel is new, bright, colorful, and well designed. Rooms are large, comfortable, and make you feel like inviting friends over for a marguerita (not from the bar). Service is friendly and parking is reasonable at $13 with easy access. This is a unique, enjoyable hotel on a calm less touristy part of the river. Just don't eat there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake jackson, texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo. They have kept some of the original building which makes it an unique hotel. I liked the way the room was decorated and I appreciated the Aveda products in the bathroom. Great located and staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We booked this hotel through Hotwire.com and were thrilled to discover that the Riverwalk was at the back of the hotel, just off the very private garden patio. We were only a 10 minute walk from all the restaurants and stores. A lovely, quiet walk before and after dinner. Area was well lit and safe. For those who don't need the exercise there is a taxi stop right on the river at back of the hotel.

Beds were the most comfortable ones on our vacation.

We had a medical emergency in the middle of the night and found the hotel staff to be competent, helpful and supportive.

Will definetly stay here upon returning to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a balcony and view of the Riverwalk but was very quiet.........which we pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I have stayed here twice with visiting friends or family. Both times I enjoyed the hotel and so did my guests! We loved the modern rooms and the staff was very helpful with directions. The staff also offered to keep our bags locked up for us after check out so they wouldnt be sitting in our car. The location is on the Riverwalk, however it is a good little walk before you get to the shops and restaurants on the river. The walk is beautiful though so it's only a problem when it's really hot outside! I will stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the area!

Room Tip: Street view rooms do not have a great view, but they werent too noisy and were a cheaper option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#87 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.