We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time at your hotel for our high school reunion group! All of us met every morning, before the activities in the breakfast room to have a delicious hot or cold breakfast--you provided almost anything for breakfast anyone would like. During the day, your staff was courteous, and extremely helpful with any request we, or our reunion coordinators had. At night we met in the large, clean, hospitality room, to talk about our day, give each other a hard time, etc. When it came time for bed, our room was cozy and comfy, with lots of room for our computers, and other essentials. Thank you and your staff for a wonderful stay! We couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: The ice machine is on the 3rd floor, and the guest laundry is on the 4th floor. Each are easy to fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for writing this kind review on Trip Advisor. It was truly a pleasure hosting your group at our hotel for your class reunion. You all need to come back soon and experience even more of what San Antonio has to offer. Again, Thank you so much!

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    130
    31
    2
    4
See reviews for
134
64
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a reunion and could not have been more impressed. Everything was first class. The room was great, the space for the group was perfect, the service from the staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was a real plus. The location could not have been better. We were there for 4 nights and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for this very, very kind review. It was a pleasure hosting your group and we can not wait to do it again. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were at the hotel for a reunion. I went to SA to evaluate several hotels ON the River Walk. I was convinced that the location was key. After visiting this hotel I knew I was wrong. We were a block from the Alamo and it was about another block and a half to the entrance to the center of the River Walk. A very nice walk, even in the summer (and I am not a fan of the heat and humidity!). The service, the rooms were so awesome! I was the reunion coordinator for a group of us that went to the same high school at an army base in Germany. The staff at this hotel is AWESOME. I cannot recommend them highly enough whether you are planning an extended stay or having a reunion as we did. I swear they not only met our needs they anticipated them. I couldn't thank them enough. They put the SERVE in Service!

Room Tip: My only suggestion would be to get a room on the opposite side (north I think) from the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for this kind review. It was really a pleasure serving you and your reunion group. You were all a lot of fun and the staff had a great time serving/hosting you. That was a blast and we certainly invite you bacck each and every year! Thanks again for the review and for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a one bedroom suite and it was very large with a full kitchen. The hotel staff were woulderful and always willing to help with any request. We were there for a High School Reunion and the space provided for our group was just what we needed. The breakfast area was wounderful and we all took advantage of the mulitiple offerings for Breakfast. Hotel was only one block for the riverwalk and all of the downtown restaurants. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure hosting your class reunion. You are all a bunch of great people and we were all humbled by the enthusiasm and turnout of such a great class. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! You all were a bunch of fun!

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Here for three nights with two long term buddies and spouses to celebrate birthdays. Staff could not have been more accommodating to see that we all had nearby rooms, and placed sparkling wine in each unit to assist! Desk staff and visible other staff all exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is included and quite nice.

Room Tip: If you are there for a special occasion, do not be afraid to mention it to staff when making the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review as well as for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. Also, I couldn't agree more with your room tips. We really do enjoy doing special surprises for guests as well as your advice on San Antonio being a walking city is spot on. There are rental car companies in an easy walk from the hotel if you need a car for a day or two. Thank you again and come back soon to experience more of what this fun and dynamic city has to offer.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room is really big and comfortable! I really love it. The perfect location and the best service are unforgettable. I extremely recommend this Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to you guys. I hope you can enjoy your holiday or trip in it. 房间很大很舒服。我真的很喜欢。极好的服务和完美的地点是非常难忘的。我非常推荐这间Marriott给所有阅读这条评论的人。衷心希望你可以在这里享受你们的假期。

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind review. I will certainly share this with our entire staff and have George translate! We certainly enjoyed hosting you in the US during your stay in San Antonio. I hope that future travels bring you back to San Antonio and we have the opportunity to host you again. Thank you for taking the time to wirte this revew and thank you so much for choosling to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is not close to any attractions in the San Antonio Riverwalk area. The front desk staff wS helpful but not overly enthusiastic. It took 30 min to get a taxi because they were doing construction on all of the roads anywhere near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and also thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. I apologize for the paving project that took place on the road in front of the hotel during your stay. The San Antonio Rock and Roll Marathon that will take place on November 17th passes directly in front of our hotel, thus they were smooting out the path of the race. I also apologize that the front desk staff was not enthusiasic and I will address this issue. This is not a common observation and I will work to make certain that we all practice aggressive hospitality with all of our guests. Our location near the Alamo usually gets great reviews and we try to promote our proximity on the edge of the action and if you were mislead, I certainly apologize for that. We are on the northwest corner of the downtown area and one block to the Alamo, two blocks to the Riverwalk, and three blocks to the Convention Center. We certainly strive to be more that just ok and I apologize that we did not exceed your expections. Thank you again for staying with us!

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.