We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First of all the location is excellent.1 block from the Alamo.. 1 1/2 blocks from Rivercenter mall. The staff was very nice coming in. Valet is $24 and that is pretty reasonable for the location. The very first thing you realize when you walk through the room door is how huge the rooms are. You have a sofa/bed combo.. The room had extra pillows, sheets and covers. We had the queen bed, what we have at home. I am sure king was available if we had requested. It had a professional desk with lights, a stove, microwave with complimentary popcorn, a large refrigerator, dishwasher, and a beautiful view. There were 2 closets. The pool is heated year round so the kids can swim in the pool day or night April. It has an adjoining jacuzzi but is not very big. The internet in the room is FREE, or included if you will. I have stayed in numerous hotels in San Antonio and this is NOT the norm there. $15 extra usually. So this was nice. Complimentary breakfast is served from 7:00 to 10:00 and the first day they had sausage, eggs, with cheese, green onions, huge bacon bits (real) waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, numerous pastries, cereals, a better selection than most complimentary breakfasts I thought. Second day they had cooked ham. As I said, the staff was so nice.. They made the stay worth the price of admission. We are going to stay here again, because we enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am glad that we surprised you and extremely glad is was a positive surprise! Thanks for pointing out the features and amenities of our suites. Our studio, one bedroom, and queen/queen suites are all 520 square feet large (more or less) and the two bedroom suites are 890 square feet (more or less). We also thank you for all the other positive mentions. Please come back and see us on your next trip to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    130
    31
    2
    4
See reviews for
134
64
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with our 2 kids for 2 nights for spring break. Had a room with 2 beds plus pullout. Nice sized room. Great service. The breakfast was amazing for my kids. Everything you could imagine- waffles, eggs, cereal, yogurts, oatmeal. A little disappointed by size of pool, but all other benefits made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, hope to see you again next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel over Easter 2013. The staff was great - very friendly and helpful. A few amenities that would have been nice: dish soap, laundry basket, cookie sheet, night lights. Our two bedroom suite was nice, but these items would have been very helpful! Also, we requested extra blankets as the temperature was difficult to moderate and were only able to get one. One negative - the pool appears in the hotel photos to be large and it is TINY. It was a very important factor in choosing a property and it was very disappointing. The food was average, the breakfast area crowded, but we always found a seat. Location was GREAT!

Room Tip: 12th floor is quiet and has laundry. Elevators are fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind review and we hope to host you on future stays in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

enjoyed the reason stay at the Residence Inn. food was great, the customer service is great, location was good, overall it was wonderful stay. my only negative would be that the parking is 24 dollars a day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. One of the biggest complaints from urban hotels is the cost factor of parking. Our goal is to make certain that everyone has a place to park and due to outside contracts, these costs are past on to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza.

It was comfortable with a spacious room. The room had a small kitchen which was very useful.
The room was very clean and quite modern. The staff were quite friendly.
I used the gym facilities which were quite modern and well stocked with good equipment. It was very accessible by being 24 hours.The location was convenient and very close to the Alamo and downtown.
The only downside was the valet parking. We had to pay $24 a day plus tax, it was a bit pricey and often the driveway would be blocked and waiting around for the car.

However, all in all it was a great stay for the price we paid. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the review and for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. My apologies for any waits involved with the valet car sitution. Staffing levels can be challenging and sometimes we do get caught off guard. I will review this with our valet company. I also apologize for the dissatisfaction as to parking costs. This is very prevelant in urban cores and it can be a point of contention with guests not anticipating the extra costs. Our costs are below the midline for valet costs in San Antonio but I do understand your concern. Please visit us on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Residence Inns have become our favorite Marriott brand. We usually travel with our teenage daughter, so we love the extra space that they offer. The Residence Inn on Bonham in San Antonio was no exception. The location can't be beat with the Alamo at the foot of the hotel, Riverwalk access just blocks away and a shopping mall within a few hundred yards. We opted not to rent a car for most of our stay because everything is in such close proximity, however it was great to be able to rent a car at Avis (right across the street from the hotel) on our last day so we could visit the Mission trail, find a puffy taco joint and get back to the airport.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful with lots of options. The room was clean and spacious with a well appointed kitchenette including full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher. The one thing we would have preferred would have been a king size bed, which I don't believe this property offers. Other than that one minor point, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your stay at our hotel. Your insite on the Avis rental car acrosss the street is one of our best ketp secrets (that should not be secret). We as most (but not all) Residence Inn's have one bed type and that is Queen beds. There are a few out there with King bed types but this is not the norm. Thanks again for the review and also thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed at dozens of Residence Inns and this is very clean, friendly, and professionally run, as almost all of them are. Since it's an urban location, the pool is relatively small vs. other hotels, but they do have one. The room was very clean and appears to have been remodeled in the last year or so. Looks sharp. So do the common areas. The breakfast is free and fabulous.

Room tip: most every Residence Inn I have stayed at had an oven, so I could bake a pizza. These have range tops and microwave ovens, but not a stove. FYI.

Parking tip. Valet parking is $25 and if you park yourself in the hotel garage the fee is almost the same. Depending on your schedule, you can avoid this. There is on street parking. I was here three nights and never had a problem finding a meter parking spot less than a block away. I felt safe on the streets here at night.

The meters are active 8AM - 6PM, Mon - Sat. Otherwise free. It's $0.25 for a hour, and you can pump in the entire ten hours of quarters all at once.

Park over night for free. If you park during the day, it'll cost $2.50 vs. $25.

If for some reason that doesn't work for you, there is a paid "central parking" lot that is around $14 across the street, too.

Hit helpful is this was relevant for you

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view. Sometimes hotels do not have enough elevators and that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review and providing parking tips to San Antonio travelers. The parking meters have changed since your arrival but all might still hold to be true. We don't recommend other parking as we can never keep up with thier rules and breaking those rules can lead to problems. Also, the parking lots rates will change for special occasions and weekends etc. Again, thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.