We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch For Travel or Leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch For Travel or Leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A colleague and I were doing business in San Antonio for 2 weeks and needed a place to stay that would allow us to get our work done as well as be comfortable and in a great area. This hotel exceeded our expectations in regards to the rooms and the service provided. On prior trips, we had to "hotel hop" because the hotels we chose either were not as their pictures depicted (quality of rooms/services) or were not in a great area of town. Additionally, many of the reviews were not detailed, helpful or very accurate. Upon checking in here at the Residence Inn SA Downtown, we were pleased to see that are rooms were spacious, comfortable and included FREE WI-FI for all devices as well as a fully stocked kitchen in regards to utensils and appliances which helped us save money on eating out. Their business center was actually a business center with functioning computers, printers and the concierge helped us scan our travel documents, receipts and anything else we needed.

Additionally, their breakfast was free-and was not like most "free breakfasts" with rubber eggs, no fruit and stale toast...it had a variety of healthy/balanced options that tasted like actual food. Finally, their cleaning staff was throurough, quick and even did any dishes that were left out which was completely unexpected..and they had a fitness center with actually free-weights that went up to 50lbs and equipment that worked.

Again, most people seem to only write reviews if they are negative and I always get frustrated as a business professional at the lack of detail reviewers provide that may allow others to find great hotels. Bottom line, if you need something affordable, comfortable, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, the River Walk, the Alamo and everything downtown has to offer while giving you everything you need to get your business done efficiently this is the place you need to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear BB3186:

Thank you for th kind review and thank you for staying with us in December of 2012. I certainly would like to invite you back for another visit. We really appreciate your review.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    111
    28
    2
    4
See reviews for
106
58
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent 11 days at this place and the service by the front desk employees and staff was spot on! Every morning they would greet you with a smile. Tammy Caldron , a front desk clerk, even went out of her way and provided me her own personal umbrella to use to walk to church while it was raining ...the maintenance man promptly came to my room to fix my remote and redirect the air vents from blowing cold air from the A.C. blowing on me. Also the breakfasts and managers meals were surprisingly good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did a quick meet-up in San Antonio with my mom & the 2 bedroom suite at the Residence Inn was perfect! Grandma had a room, my husband & I had a room & our daughter had the sofa bed! The location was ideal for exploring downtown San Antonio - the Alamo was a block away. It was also convenient for hopping on I-37 to make our way over to SeaWorld & up to the airport to leave.

Room Tip: We went for a higher floor - the property is somewhat close to the highway. I'd request an Alamo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband, dogs and I stayed here for over 90 days and loved it! The staff was amazing - no request was too big or small - and they treated our dogs like royalty. There is a small grassy spot right outside the hotel door and they provide disposal bags. Every morning there is a fantastic breakfast complete with waffles, eggs, yogurt, pastries, fruit, oatmeal and more. Everything great about downtown San Antonio is right outside the door. The new section of the riverwalk is just 3 blocks down from the hotel (a great place to run), the 'commercial' section of the river walk is a 5 minute walk and you pass the Alamo, the Southtown area is about a 20 minute walk, and a dog park is about a 15 minute walk. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms in tip top shape, even with two dogs! Our room had a small kitchen with sink, dishwasher, microwave, cook top and full size fridge. I definitely would recommend this hotel if you are staying in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had an awesome time in San Antonio. The hotel was great and the roome were clean and the staff was excellent. They had a marathon going on the morning we left and the hotel took our party back to the train station because the roads were closed it was something they didn't have to do but they did. I would definately stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife, two daughters, and I stayed at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza between 11/9-11/11/12 to attend and participate in the San Antonio Rock 'n' Roll Marathon. Staying at this hotel was a great choice because of location, outstanding service by all hotel employees, and cleanliness of the property. Check-in was a breeze and Tammy at the front desk was personable and very courteous making our initial impression a favorable one of the Residence Inn. This was our very first time staying at one of these Marriott properties and definitely won't be our last time. If you are interested in visiting San Antonio and especially the downtown area this hotel is conveniently located next to the famous Alamo and all downtown sightseeing areas to include the River Walk. Free WiFi and Breakfast everyday was the icing on the cake. Rooms were very well appointed with a small kitchen to include a full-size refridgerator, sink, dish washer and kitchen ware to prepare small food items in your room. Don't look any further when considering a place to stay in downtown San Antonio. All of the Residence Inn employees were courteous, helpful, and very professional. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I prefere this hotel to the river walk establishments! For a couple reasons the staff here is very attentive and friendly! Also the accommodations for the dollar to me is worth every penny spent! I feel at home here nice rooms with a kitchen in case you want to cook! And a great location close to the freeway and the river walk both about three blocks from here! If your lucky enough to check in be sure to say hi to Jesse the valet man, and to Tammy or Jennifer at the front desk if they are working that day:) great people oh I can't forget to mention, the free breakfast and happy hours that they throw a great added value to your trip Nd yes you get free beer and wine! What a great deal. That's the scoop semper fi stan

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.