We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & big rooms - perfect for vacation with Grandma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Flags Package
Ranked #9 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Hood River, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location & big rooms - perfect for vacation with Grandma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did a quick meet-up in San Antonio with my mom & the 2 bedroom suite at the Residence Inn was perfect! Grandma had a room, my husband & I had a room & our daughter had the sofa bed! The location was ideal for exploring downtown San Antonio - the Alamo was a block away. It was also convenient for hopping on I-37 to make our way over to SeaWorld & up to the airport to leave.

Room Tip: We went for a higher floor - the property is somewhat close to the highway. I'd request an Alamo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    121
    29
    2
    4
See reviews for
122
63
15
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband, dogs and I stayed here for over 90 days and loved it! The staff was amazing - no request was too big or small - and they treated our dogs like royalty. There is a small grassy spot right outside the hotel door and they provide disposal bags. Every morning there is a fantastic breakfast complete with waffles, eggs, yogurt, pastries, fruit, oatmeal and more. Everything great about downtown San Antonio is right outside the door. The new section of the riverwalk is just 3 blocks down from the hotel (a great place to run), the 'commercial' section of the river walk is a 5 minute walk and you pass the Alamo, the Southtown area is about a 20 minute walk, and a dog park is about a 15 minute walk. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job of keeping the rooms in tip top shape, even with two dogs! Our room had a small kitchen with sink, dishwasher, microwave, cook top and full size fridge. I definitely would recommend this hotel if you are staying in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had an awesome time in San Antonio. The hotel was great and the roome were clean and the staff was excellent. They had a marathon going on the morning we left and the hotel took our party back to the train station because the roads were closed it was something they didn't have to do but they did. I would definately stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife, two daughters, and I stayed at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza between 11/9-11/11/12 to attend and participate in the San Antonio Rock 'n' Roll Marathon. Staying at this hotel was a great choice because of location, outstanding service by all hotel employees, and cleanliness of the property. Check-in was a breeze and Tammy at the front desk was personable and very courteous making our initial impression a favorable one of the Residence Inn. This was our very first time staying at one of these Marriott properties and definitely won't be our last time. If you are interested in visiting San Antonio and especially the downtown area this hotel is conveniently located next to the famous Alamo and all downtown sightseeing areas to include the River Walk. Free WiFi and Breakfast everyday was the icing on the cake. Rooms were very well appointed with a small kitchen to include a full-size refridgerator, sink, dish washer and kitchen ware to prepare small food items in your room. Don't look any further when considering a place to stay in downtown San Antonio. All of the Residence Inn employees were courteous, helpful, and very professional. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I prefere this hotel to the river walk establishments! For a couple reasons the staff here is very attentive and friendly! Also the accommodations for the dollar to me is worth every penny spent! I feel at home here nice rooms with a kitchen in case you want to cook! And a great location close to the freeway and the river walk both about three blocks from here! If your lucky enough to check in be sure to say hi to Jesse the valet man, and to Tammy or Jennifer at the front desk if they are working that day:) great people oh I can't forget to mention, the free breakfast and happy hours that they throw a great added value to your trip Nd yes you get free beer and wine! What a great deal. That's the scoop semper fi stan

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

2 day stay, Sun/Mon and could not have been better. Wife took both room keys when she went shopping and I wanted to share in the evening libations. Called front desk and asked if just my DL would suffice for ID to get another key and reply was "Not Necessary, I know who you are." OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE. GREAT WI-FI, plenty power outlets on lamp bases to charge all the "Toys". 5 STAR! Very modern and CLEAN!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. I was traveling with my husband, our 2-year old son, and my parents. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite. It was an easy walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Breakfast was comparable to other hotels that offer free breakfast. Happy hour food was about what you'd expect. The suite was clean and nicely updated. The kitchen items were somewhat limited (pots and dishes) but we had enough to cook basic food for our toddler. What really impressed us was that the hotel loaned us an umbrella stroller when we realized we'd forgotten ours. The 2-bedroom suite was an excellent value for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.