We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for... Caveat Emptor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   902 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for... Caveat Emptor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

About the only thing going for this motel is the price - cheap. Well, the room appeared to be clean. The door to the room drug on the carpet. The drapes/curtains did not close properly. The street noise, especially from the nearby freeway was excessive. The bathroom light switch did not work - the light couldn't be turned off. The air conditioner was excessively noisy. The TV sucked.
At least the room was dark at night. Another side benefit, the wife no longer complains when I book a more expensive, higher class motel.
This motel was relatively inexpensive, and it shows.

Room Tip: Choose a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    66
    50
    75
See reviews for
84
54
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel's location is wonderful, just a short walk from the river walk so that was super, the room was just over 50 bucks so I can't ask for much-- they do charge for parking and the front desk lady was kinda pissy-- and the breakfast wasn't phenomenal-- however.. I paid just over 50 buck for a room that was clean and had a comfy bed, warm running water and a Wonderful Location! - Also felt safe as a solo female traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

All I have to say is avoid. This place is bad news. When you pay more than 100 for a night you expect some hospitality. No way. They even charge there guests for parking. The service was bad I mean really bad. When we checked in we noticed that the room was dirty and there were no light bulbs in the lamps. When we called to have some brought down to the room we were met with an attitude. It was weird being missed treated as a guest. After that we turned the lights on to see a even dirtier room. We were beat and after my pregnant wife asking me to just stop we considered no other choices. That was our mistake. We stayed one night. In the morning we noticed that several areas of the hotel were very dirty. There was a dirty laundry basket dripping a rather unpleasant smelly liquid. There was a faucet that looked as if it was going to break off the wall and soak everything near it. The lobby was very small and included the breakfast area. The breakfast avoid it was stale and had very few choices. Had we arrived in a better condition we would have chosen to go the red roof inn across the street for thew same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel June of 2013. The rooms are rundown and poorly cleaned. Found chicken bones under the bed which were not removed until I had toed them out into the middle of the floor.
The biggest problem is that this hotel will cheat you every way you can. You will be billed for parking, even if you don't have a car. When you mention that, they will tell you that it will be refunded to your account after a few weeks. You will be billed for use of the safe, which is listed as optional, even though you are not able to open the safe.
In my case, I was charged for the hotel three times and have spend the last two and a half months trying to get the charges refunded. I keep getting the shove off by the manager, and the staff is so confused, they have no idea what is going on.
Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Best to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk

Also Known As:
Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel
Days Inn Alamo Riverwalk
Days Inn Riverwalk San Antonio
San Antonio Days Inn
Day Inn San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk
Days Inn San Antonio
Address: 902 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#225 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.