We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair location but terrible service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk to your Saves list
Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   902 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #258 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Greenville, TX
1 review
“Fair location but terrible service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked our San Antonio vacation with you on 6/30/12 for 7/15/12-7/19/12. Before we even arrived at the hotel we were charged on 7/9/12 for the entire stay. When we arrived we were asked for our credit card again wanting to charge us for parking of $10 per day. We refused to allow our credit card to be charged because it was not part of the charges on the San Antonio Vacation Experience when we booked our reservations. If we knew you wanted to charge us for our care to sit in your lot, we would have booked elsewhere.

When we checked out, we asked to be reimbursed for the days we had not used. We checked out on 7/17/12 because the hotel clerks were rude, the bathroom was nasty and we did not feel comfortable there. This is why a customer should not be charged until they checkout!

In the bathroom instead of replacing moldy calk and grout, it was painted over. The water pressure was almost nonexistent and we had to ask for towels which should have been supplied. What a terrible experience which should have been a good one. We will never stay in a Days Inn again and we would not recommend the Days Inn San Antonio Alamo/Riverwalk – 902 East Houston Street location to anyone. Don’t save, go to a reputable hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrios N, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Christie L,

Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept my apologies on behalf of the property for all of the issues that you had.

We indeed have recently introduced paid parking at our property. We had a number of times when unauthorized cars have taken up spaces blocking residents and felt that this was the only way to control it. Given that all of our competitors charge for parking, it was a much better solution to issue everyone with a ticket so that cars that were authorized to be in the parking lot could be clearly identified. We have also reduced our room rates by a corresponding amount (approximately $10) to ensure that our guests are not out of pocket as a result of these changes.

Having said this clearly this was not communicated to you in an appropriate way. I can assure you that this as well as other issues will be followed up immediately.

I hope that you would find time to send me an email so we could discuss this further.

Regards,

Dimitrios Neofitidis
dneofitidis@eqgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    90
    84
    132
See reviews for
122
86
50
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rougemont, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We visited the Alamo & the San Antonio area. We picked the Days inn Alamo/Riverwalk because of the location & price. We were not disappointed. The location was within walk distance of everthing we needed & the employees were friendly & helpful. I left something in the room & a week later I got it in the mail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A very basic simple hotel. Compared to the other hotels around, this is the only real bargain, as in affordable to average to people. Beyond convenience, there is really nothing great about this place. Room was basically clean, but dated and kind of gross - hard to explain - I would say ask to see a room before you commit.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you commit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This place wasn't as bad as some people on here said it was.
I would have given it another star but my AC in the first room I go was not working at all, but they came right over after I called the front desk and they gave me another room immediately.
Had free Wi-Fi and the bed was very confy. The bathrooms could be updated, but they were not horrible.
I stay in San Antonio every time I travel and drive through it. There is a lot to see and do in that city. The location of this Days Inn is right behind the Alamo within walking distance to the entire Riverwalk area to include the River Center where you can find lots of good places to eat.
All in all, it was a good stay. Not the greatest, but good.
Stayed here on May 29th 2012

Room Tip: If you are traveling by yourself and want more room, get the room with the King Size Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We needed a convenient stop for one night in a safe area and this is good basic accomodation with free parking in great location - easy walk to Alamo and River Walk.
Good value compared to nearby alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This certainly wasn't a luxury accommodation, but then again, it's about the cheapest decent hotel you can get in downtown San Antonio. Couple that with free parking and a free continental breakfast (even though it's tiny and crammed), and it's a pretty good deal. It's literally blocks from the Alamo and the Riverwalk. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel needs a much needed remodeling, the great thinkg was that is was walking distance to the riverwalk,market square and rivercenter mall. A/C not cooling properly but not to bad

Room Tip: For a one niter its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 902 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Days Inn Riverwalk San Antonio
San Antonio Days Inn
Day Inn San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk
Days Inn San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alamo/Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.