We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a business trip. Hotel was nice but elevators had...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk to your Saves list
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Pecan Street East, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk) (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #167 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    136
    130
    79
    36
See reviews for
126
86
9
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our reservation through "Groupon" and ensured our reservation was still available 3 days before the actual trip and they confirmed everything. However, upon our arrival, they could not find our booking and we had to spend a few minutes at the desk to sort out the ball drop. Fortunately, there was someone on hand to bring the ball back in play.
Then came the a-la-cart moment; a new experience with a hotel for me, we had to pay for the fridge, microwave and Internet access in the rooms, the Wi-Fi I don't know if this is the norm or it’s because they just bought the place and using this form of methodology to recuperate the expenses.
The breakfast bar is the best in all my thirty-plus years in the hotel and motel accommodation, very great experience. For dinner meals please make sure you bring a lot of money and a very small appetite, the food they offer is very small, just walk down the alley to the River-Walk for the Tex-Mex experience.
The rooms are decent under the current circumstances, they promised a better decor and housekeeping in the future. The pool, the gym and the massage on the third floor are some of the great services they offer, if you have phobia to small spaces do not go into the massage room; management need to relocate for better experience. The masseuse, and her staff are very experience but the location is very small.
Overall, under the current circumstances, they are trying their best to make best of a bad situation. You see, the Wyndham Resort Corporation recovered the hotel from the former “Crown Plaza” when they went bankrupt.
They also have sales people on hand to recruit you for their Resort Vacation Club membership

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Randy M.,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detail on your recent experience with us. I was happy to hear you enjoyed the many options provided at breakfast buffet in the111 Grill. We are currently having our guest rooms renovated, and all will be complete by the end of October.
If you sign up to be a Wyndham rewards member guestroom internet will be free on your next visit. You are correct we do not offer refrigerators or microwaves in all of our guestrooms, but for a nominal fee we will provide them if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located with easy access to the river. The rooms are clean and decent. The buffet breakfast is well laid out with a chef available for making eggs on order.
The place does tend to get crowded and finding an empty elevator to go up or down takes a while. Keep this mind if you have to check out and catch a flight.

Plenty of restaurants and cafe's located on the river. I would recommend to take a right once you hit the river. You can find lots of places within a mile from the hotel. There is also the water taxi. To reach the river there are steps involved and also at most restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Rahul P2,
Thank you for taking the time to share your favorable comments regarding your recent visit with us at the Wyndham Riverwalk Hotel. I appreciate your noting we have good proximity to the restaurants and nightlife, and that you enjoyed our restaurant offerings. Occasionally during a full hotel check out, the elevators may take a few extra minutes to respond. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spacious room on the 20th of 21 floors. Super comfortable bed with plush linens. Powerful and quiet AC. Spacious bathroom, though for some reason in my 20th floor room I had to run the hot water several minutes before hot water flowed from it, including the shower which was mildly inconvenient. Large HD TV. Coffee maker and room service restored coffee everyday. Room layout was extremely pleasant. There are 4 elevators and I never waited more than 20 seconds for the elevator to arrive. Well equipped fitness room with 4 treadmills, several ellipticals, stair-masters, crossfit, and dumb bells. The hotel has a fantastic breakfast buffet though they start serving at 6:00 am on weekdays which is frankly a little late to start serving for a hotel in a military town. Very spacious and comfortable lobby. The Alamo and central attractions are a 10 minute walk from the hotel and and Fort Sam Houston is a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 days ago
rich zimme,
Thank you for sharing your detailed comments from a recent visit with us at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel. I was pleased to hear your enjoyed the comfort of our newly renovated guestrooms. All our guestrooms will be renovated by the end of October. I apologize for the brief delay in hot water. I will ask by engineering department to check the supply to ensure their is not a problem with the hot water flow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 111 Pecan Street East, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk ***Centrally located on the historic Riverwalk*** Enjoy all the excitement, charm and culture of San Antonio while at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk hotel, a AAA 4-diamond hotel. Enjoy all the amenities of a full service hotels with the convenience of being near AT&T, Frost Bank, Toyota, Boeing, General Electric and USAA. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, Hemisfair Park and Tower, El Mercado Marketplace, the San Antonio Convention Center and the RiverCenter Mall. We are a short drive to Fiesta Texas, the Six Flags Amusement Park, Sea World, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the San Antonio Missions and the San Marcos Outlet Center. In addition the hotel is conveniently located to Brooks Army Base, Kelly Air Force Base, Randolph, Lackland and Ft. Sam Houston bases. This 410-room hotel features 37,000 square feet of meeting space, with a grand ballroom and exhibit hall. All rooms are wired with high-speed Internet access with WiFi (wireless) access in the public areas. We feature valet and self parking for all guests and meeting attendees. The hotel features a roof top pool, sauna, whirlpool and a complimentary full fitness center. We are a 'pet friendly' hotel; please go to hotel features for additional information and fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;