We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   628 S Santa Rosa Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Avenida Guadalupe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #91 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Place had a good variety at breakfast. Waffle makers are always a plus, but this one made Texas-shaped waffles, which was very novel. Staff worked hard to make sure guests had a pleasant stay. Small but comfortable pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your stellar review of our complimentary hot breakfast buffet! We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
44
8
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Drove over 1300 miles in 24 hrs for a 7 day stay. Met family here and got the two room suite
Three adults, two kids. Figures it's a good deal. Check in was easy and fast. Hotel is actually located in the back of another. A bit confusing but we found it. Parking is ample and free. Now for the first night, The room smells like smoke! Curtains are ripped and we are missing any kind of bedding for the couch bed. We are missing a chair and footstool in the living room. Which make us adult to sit in the kitchen table. New fridge as well , and pool is small and crowded. Older bathrooms and there is no way this is a queen bed. Paid for 7 days and this is where we will stay .
The pictures on line look ways better than what it is in person. There is even an old non-running vehicle taking up space in the very front of the hotel. Yuck! Could be cleaned up a bit.

Room Tip: Ask the when you call if any of the rooms or hotel has been renovated lately before booking. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are excited to let you know that we will be completing a full renovation at the end of this year! We will use your feedback to assist us in making significant upgrades to our property and we look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated property next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I want to start off by saying the employees here are very friendly. they made our stay really comfortable! no hassle ever, what-so-ever. we were not in the hotel very much since we were out enjoying san Antonio all day, but when we were in the hotel it was very relaxing. I loved the home-ey feel of the hotel. the kitchen had everything we needed down to all utensils and dishwashing soap so we didn't have to look far when we forgot to bring our wine bottle opener. our nights were great and the breakfast is def. something worth mentioning, which is actually what made my final decision of choosing this hotel. I didn't like the fact that these other hotels for the same price or higher can barely offer a decent breakfast, but this hotel went above and beyond. their breakfast was def. filling! hot cooked meal with eggs, potatoes, sausage, fresh oatmeal, waffles, breads galore lol, well u get the idea, it was great! the sheets were very clean which of course is the main thing I look for in a hotel stay. The free parking at this hotel was also a plus, I really considered staying on the riverwalk but quickly decided against it when I was going to be charged no less than 25. a night just to park my car at a hotel im already paying to stay at. Riding a trolly was a great experience and even if u choose to take ur vehicle to the riverwalk parking for the day is no more than 10 bucks at the lots they have. this hotel is very, very close to the riverwalk, Alamo and even the tower of Americas, we rode a trolley to and from, saved all the hassle of looking for a parking spot at the riverwalk and also saved money, trolley is about a dollar a person. they r very fun to ride and I didn't see one scary person on them ;) hotel is also located about 15 min away from seaworld, not bad at all. overall we absolutely enjoyed our 3 day trip and it was the cherry on top to be able to rest our heads at a pleasant hotel such as this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a stellar review of our hotel! We are happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the location, free parking, price and breakfast the hotel is a decent value. With that being said it is definatley not a three and a half star hotel. I have stayed at other Residents Inns and they were amazing. The first room we were given had a large dead cockaroach in it. The second room we were given already had people in it. The last room that we were in had ants in the shower. At least they were not in the kitchen......

With regards to the hotels proximity to the famed River Walk, it is not within walking distance for younger children ( under 10). You can catch the trolley around the corner from the hotel but it does not appear to be the safest area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your check-in at your hotel. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have a positive experience and we deeply regret that we missed the mark. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities we have to offer and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your host the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is located very close to the famous Riverwalk (about 10 min walk). We came here for the March Break and because of that the whole city was packed. This is a very conveniently located facility with everything you need – (swimming pool, breakfast, basketball court and free parking). We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the valuable amenities our hotel has to offer and our close proximity to the riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back next Spring Break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great location if you like the Mercado. It is an easy four blocks away. Since the property is so close, this property may be noisy during Fiesta or other events. This property is OK but not the best, however the staff are outstanding. With that said, I never got the ice bucket I requested. One plus about this property is FREE parking as opposed to other properties closer to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel's complimentary parking and location in proximity to the Mercado. We sincerely apologize for neglecting to deliver your ice bucket. We look forward to making it up to you during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

While a bit 'tired', overall this was a good value. Hot breakfast, 24 he coffee, and the in room kitchen made it comfortable. While a half mile walk to Market Sq, and another half mi to the River Walk loop, it was fine. Would be difficult for some, or in extreme weather. Fiesta decor was fun, as well as Dewayne at the front desk!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Fiesta decorations, friendly staff and convenient location to Market Square and the Riverwalk. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square

Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. The renovated suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With renovated amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.