We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   628 S Santa Rosa Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Avenida Guadalupe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Zoo Package
Ranked #102 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very typical Residence Inm. I have nothing to complain about the hotel.
I recently stayed at a one bedroom suite which was very pleasant and clean. This Residence Inn staffs were very professional and courteous. I was quickly checked in. The hotel is located within walking distance to the Market Square Area. The furniture and the decoration are out of date. The room needs to be modernized. The hotel provides complimentary parking. The breakfast was very good with full of various items. Overall, it is a nice Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay at our hotel! We apprecaite your feedback as we work to continuously improve the guest experience at our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a clean and friendly atmosphere during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
7
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caddo Mills, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed here last month, we booked it through the seaworld package deal. It was well worth every penny.. we had the one bedroom studio suite, which was perfect size for the four of us. The breakfast was very good, we just had to wait in line, (suggest getting in there early). The pool was great, staff was very polite. We strongly recommend doing the seaworld dine and play package. Hotel is perfectly located in between seaworld and the river walk. We can't wait to come back!!:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and created such a great memory with your family! We look forward to welcoming you back next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I with two kids (7 year old, 4 month old). We instantly felt welcomed. Everyone was friendly, and the Wed special (free) hamburger dinner by the manager and staff was a great surprise. We enjoyed our 4 day stay.

To top it off, we left our stroller and a few things, and they mailed it back!!! No hassles.

Will stay again and highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: had a studio suite with kitchen and it was a great size for a family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi Janie, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the service and evening social hour that our hotel provided. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit the Alamo City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

l recently stayed at this RI, Market Square over a weekend trip to San Antonio, TX, for a quick visit of the Riverwalk and surrounding area. This Residence Inn is staffed with very professional and courteous people. I was quickly checked in and ensured I had everything I needed. It is within walking distance to the Market Square Area, which really is a large flea market and couple of expensive Mexican restaurants. Regarding the rooms, it was decent and clean and I had a couple, quiet, comfortable nights stay and felt safe. As other travellers have pointed out, the furniture is quite worn. The rooms need to be modernized up to year 2012. The flat screen tv was the only addition to the room that made it look modern. The decor and furniture is out of date (1990-ish) and should be kept up with Marriotts high standards for this brand name. For the price, one could stay at a more modern hotel with amenities. However, it was worth it not having to pay for parking like the other hotels in the Riverwalk area charge (~$20/night). The breakfast bar was good; full of various items, was well staffed, and kept clean. This RI met my expectations, but with a little TLC, could be receiving higher ratings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel! We appreciate your kind words about our staff, cleanliness, breakfast buffet, free parking and location! As you mentioned, we are working towards modernization of our hotel with the new HD flat screen TV's in every room. We appreciate your feedback as we look for areas of opportunity to continuously improve our Marriott hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 children last month. We booked the hotel through Seaworld. This particular hotel is not up to what we would consider Marriott standards. The one room suite we were in was very small, with old, worn furniture and no bedding for the sofa bed. I had to call down to the front desk both nights to get the bedding, which consisted of a sheet set that was too big, 2 twin size thin wool blankets and one pillow. On our second night, my family had to stand in line and wait for more food to be brought out. They also advertise a complimentary appetizer and wine or beer...there were no appetizers, and they only offered 3 types of canned beer, and no wine.
Unfortunately, I lost my wedding band in the pool area. It must have fallen out of my bag. We looked everywhere and couldn't find it. I notified the front desk, and was told if found, they would contact me ASAP. They did call me about 2 hours after we checked out and said it had been found. They offered to take 'proper preparations to ensure your ring makes it to you'...2 weeks later, I still have no ring. Come to find out they taped it to letter, put it in an envelope and sent it out with the daily mail. There is no way to track it, or even prove they did in fact send it. Never again will we stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_Hotel, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We appreciate that you have brought these issues to our attention. I am so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure every guest has a positive stay and we apologize that this was not your experience.

Our hotel offers a complimentary evening reception on Monday – Wednesday that includes a light dinner, beer and wine. Typically we have advertised that we only offer appetizers, however this has been upgraded to a light dinner. We apologize for the confusion that both would be offered. Our current offerings consist of a light dinner, salad, dessert, 3 options of beer, 3 options of wine, and various sodas. I apologize that these options were not made clear.

We were relived to have been able to assist in the recovery of your wedding band. The ring was returned immediately via regular mail and was unfortunately returned “undeliverable”. The package was resent via FedEx and our tracking information has confirmed a direct signature delivery on 07/20/2012.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We reserved a 2 bedroom suite for the last night of our TX travels. The desk staff were pleasant enough - but tried to put us in a unit already occupied. They rectified the situation with some Haagen Daz Ice Cream which was very nice and a much appreciated gesture. When we got to our "real" room - it looked like it needed some serious updating - but would suffice for one night. When we returned from our all day adventure in San Antonio - we discovered the air conditioning wouldn't adjust despite many attempts in many ways to adjust it - we ended up closing vents just so we didn't freeze ourselves out (it was too hot to turn it off completely). The living room TV didn't work with any of the 3 remotes in the suite and the light over the stove didn't work. It would not have done any good to report it when we noticed it because it was about 11 p.m. I did report it the next morning - and was offered only 2000 Marriott points for our trouble. I have stayed in many other Residence Inn properties and usually find them well maintained and extremely pleasant. I would never stay at this one again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I am so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. Our staff works diligently to keep our rooms in excellent condition and to ensure that you have the most exceptional guest experience possible. We are sorry to hear you didn’t experience that and apologize for the issues you had. Please consider giving us a second chance during your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORD_NEW_HAMPSHIRE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a one bedroom suite, and the room was very pleasant and clean, a nice retreat from busy sight seeing. the hotel is just a short walk from the city trolly service, and the Market Square. The staff was more than heapful and accomodated our every need, a special shout out to Darrel who always was busy, but stopped to say hi.

We had rented a car, for a week and only used it once to go to Seaworld and back and forth from the airport, the trolly and bus transportation in San Antonio is excellent and very inexpensive

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel! We are pleased to have created a memorable visit to our hotel and happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, our staff, and the city! We hope to welcome you back to the Alamo City soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square

Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. The renovated suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With renovated amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.