We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room, nasty! Bugs,bugs, cock roaches!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown South
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   606 Division Avenue, I-35 South/Exit #152A, San Antonio, TX 78214 (Formerly Quality Inn) (Harlandale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #173 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Cozumel, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel room, nasty! Bugs,bugs, cock roaches!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Don't stay at this hotel. Bad part of town, bathroom very old and ceiling to wall needs updating. Beds suck! Cleanliness OK, however we woke up to cock roaches in the bathroom and crawling on the chair. Don't do it!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

So we got a room for 1 night. We were impressed by how clean the rooms are. They have a 32" flat screen tv. The rooms are equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. All for a really great price. It a great value

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Ok... This may sound strange but I love this hotel. While the value is great, the property is well cared and rooms are clean, it spurs memories of summers in Florida in the 70s! White walls, pastel paintings, gold bedspreads. So yeah.... Tonight I'm taking a walk down memory lane.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Hotel is good and clean for the price. Its only 5 minutes away from downtown. Good and a variety of breakfast options. Had no issues , would stay again would recommend for the price and downtown attraction distance

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed for four nights, for our son's BMT graduation from the Air Force. Reserved 3 rooms, one king, one dbl queen, and one dbl queen suite. All the rooms were super clean, beds were nice and each room had a refrigerator and micro, hair dryer, iron...etc. The ice machine and laundry were close as well. Washer and dryer were only $1 each! Breakfast was hot and tasty, sausage, eggs, waffles and the coffee was good. The staff was most helpful too. One tip for the hotel. Military families leave to visit their graduates before 6:30 a.m., serve breakfast before then, or at least coffee. There was only one slightly negative thing about our rooms. They were clean, but the carpets need a shampoo, our feet were dirty from walking on the carpet, that's why the 4 out of 5 rating, otherwise overall a good place! Will stay again when our youngest gets to basic training.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

My room was a classic motel room layout, with 2 beds, long dresser with several drawers, small table, large sink counter outside the typical bathroom. It was not the most up-to-date modern decorations, but was not old or in need of updating any time soon. Everything seemed clean and worked well, including fridge and microwave, hot water, a/c, and TV. The WIFI worked very well. There are two or three restaurants next door, one is Whattaburger which I recommend for fast food, the other is a non-chain Tex-Mex which I did not try.
There is a good channel selection on the TV but no guide, either written or on the TV control, which drives me crazy. You have to hunt for something to watch. I couldn't even find a channel guide on-line. This is not unique to this motel, I stayed in 4 hotels in the area and only one had a channel guide available.

Room Tip: Front rooms are probably most secure, especially on the 2nd floor, but the back rooms are probably q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Clean rooms. Nice staff. Pool was refreshing and clean. Stayed 3 days for a wedding and was very pleased with the hotel. Good location to downtown. Neighborhood was not affluent, but safe. Everyone was friendly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown South

Address: 606 Division Avenue, I-35 South/Exit #152A, San Antonio, TX 78214 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Harlandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown South Hotel San Antonio
Quality Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.