We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Tea Gardens

Japanese Tea Gardens
3800 N. Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78212 (Uptown Broadway)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 196 attractions in San Antonio
Type: Theaters, Gardens
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally a rock quarry, part of the tea garden came from a donation by George W. Brackenridge and another section from Emma Koehler. In 1915 Ray Lambert, city parks commissioner, thought it would make a nice location for a lily pond. Ultimately, it grew to become a tea garden. The latest renovations began in 2007 and cost about $1.6 million, compared with the $7,000 Lambert originally spent to open the park. It is a Registered Texas Historic Landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places.
California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its amazing to find something that is right out of Hawaii or Tokyo in the middle of San Antonio. Quite extensive and very beautiful. Nice cafe which adjoins the garden. Makes for a nice afternoon visit with a cool lemonade or iced tea to top things off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    139
    32
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice waterfall but that's all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to see the garden because of all the good reviews and was expecting a lot more.

For being a garden, I did not see it as a beautiful garden.

Don't take grandma or somebody with knee problems because they will hate it. When you are climbing up the stairs there is no guard rail which I find a little dangerous for the elderly or children.

If you do decide to go, at least do when it's not too hot.

I think what did it for me is that the garden does not have any benches whatsoever. How do you enjoy the garden when you can not sit down?

There is a little Japanese restaurant and the only I did absolutely love is the small waterfall for an awesome photo.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You wont go wrong if you bring your significant other to this place. You can stroll in this garden and keep taking pictures from hundreds of angles. Try to go early in the morning to avoid crowds and summer heat. This is a no fee attraction too. If I was not in a hurry I would have tried their nice sounding specialty Teas too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice nice nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice place to visit with ur family ur kids will be very happy lakes full of fish very nice seen

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Beautiful!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you like calm relaxing and beautiful. Be sure to stop by here!! I will be sure to come back again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Tea Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Tea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Japanese Tea Gardens to your Saves list