We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jason's Deli - Colonnade

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jason's Deli - Colonnade
9933 Hwy 10 W, San Antonio, TX 78230
210-690-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #509 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Toronto Ontario Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had lunch here and while the food was tasty and good portion, the place was a zoo. Unlimited salad bar was very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money, great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My only regret is that we (my daughter and I) didn't eat here earlier! Jason's Deli is super close to the Omni San Antonio Hotel (which by the way is also a great place to stay!). The variety of choices, the quality of food, the warm, friendly and helpful staff and service, and the clean premises made for a great eat out! The free ice-cream on offer to all was a special and welcomed treat! Loved the iced tea on tap too. Carlos the Manager is a super cool guy! I'd love to see something like this in New Zealand! I'll be back next year and at the start of my stay. Keep up the wonderful service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“CHAIN RESTAURANT BUT A NOTCH ABOVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is not a New York City deli so get this straight. It is a chain. However, the selection is very good and the staff really makes you feel at home from the time you walk in to the counter. Salad bar is a good value because of the selection available. The complimentary ice cream cones are a big plus. Service is very good and the staff is constantly circulating to clean the tables. I will be back and have been back for years. Consistency is always there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“This Wad's For You!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My visits to Jason's has been mostly agreeable with decent sandwiches and soups served by frenzied workers to a queue of harried business lunch time customers anxiously searching for an open table over which to ralph their food. Not the most pleasant of dining experiences, but the end result of sated appetite was achieved.
My only complaint (actually I have two) is that they always place a wad of meat in the center of the sandwich leaving the edges bare. Rearrangement of contents to even out the mound is a bit of a hassle. Take an additional 2 seconds and distribute the contents evenly across the bread when it is being made. How hard is that?! If they are trying to emulate a NY deli, Katz's Deli they ain't! At Katz's, the amount of filling is so monstrous that the 3 inch wad landslides down to the rest of the sandwich edges by sheer gravity. Jason's would have to triple the amount of its ingredients to match the feat (and the prices I'm sure - which are already a bit inflated).
Also, and I may be alone on this one (except for my wife), keep the fruit out of the chicken salad!! If I wanted fruit, I would have bought a fruit salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ordered a Plain Jane potato to go. It was REALLY plain. When I got it home I found that it had no bacon and no sour cream! I should have checked thre order before I left the restaurant but have never had a problem before at a Jason's.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jason's Deli - Colonnade also viewed

 

Been to Jason's Deli - Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jason's Deli - Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.