We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ripley's Believe It or Not! -- Louis Tussauds Wax Museum
301 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
210 224 9299
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wax museum in downtown San Antonio that offers more than 500 unique wax curiosities from around the world.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ripley's only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ripley's was cool. There was more to see than I expected. It was a bit pricey but neat to see. My family enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    61
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobbs, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont waste the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

it was way over priced for what you got. Little to look at, but lots of stuff if that makes any sense. It was not what I thought it would be. I was hoping for more stuff that was interesting. We paid for 3 things for a discounted rate.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The price is outragious. I am all about looking for the good in places. But this was awful. I have nothing good to say about any of the Ripleys in this area. Please don't waste your time or hard earned money. The staff is rude. The figures in the museum are missing paint in some areas and it took us all of 15 minutes to complete.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go for the Wax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

we went here as part of our san antonio honeymoon. The believe it or not museum has a little to be desired but the wax museum was incredible. The likeness of some of them was ridiculous. It was a lot of fun to visit and they make for great photo ops with people that you'll never actually meet. haha

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

And the people that walk around helping you are pretty nice too, but wow, these guys are like SO into their characters you can't even tell they're not really who they appear to be. We all had a great time, and will be coming back with more friends of ours from out of town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! -- Louis Tussauds Wax Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not! -- Louis Tussauds Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Believe It or Not! -- Louis Tussauds Wax Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.