We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young, young at heart, and photographers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch

Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch
26515 Natural Bridge Caverns RD, San Antonio, TX 78266
830-438-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 327 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An African Safari, Texas Style. View and feed species from all over the world in the comfort of your own car.
usa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for young, young at heart, and photographers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Using coupons from the SAVE brochure, my family of 5 including kids aged 4,6,and 8 spent some quality time and had good laughs at this safari type attraction for a reasonable price. The idea is to drive through open grounds with your own vehicle where animals roam. We were given 1 free bag of feed and we bought 2 more at $1.50 each. We had so much that we dumped it out it one huge pile before we exited the safari area. It was crowded the day after Thanksgiving and the whole ride took us 2 hours as we stopped plenty of times. We let the animals feed out of our hands against the instruction from the front gate. All cars around us were doing the same. The animals that some to feed at close range are more of farm animal types. Nothing alarming. We were disappointed that the Giraffe are not roaming freely and are only at the front entrance so if you miss them you will not have a chance to go back. There were some rhino also behind gates. It was a bit chilly that day which made it uncomfortable because the windows will be rolled down the entire trip or the purpose is lost. The kids loved getting that close to the animals and letting them feed out of their hands. We loved using our cameras to capture some great photos. Bring an L lens if you have one for long distance. The traffic could have been better managed on a day so busy as others were ruining animal encounter opportunities as they sped by to pass. Overall, it was a fun experience and something the kids still talk about days later.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    168
    54
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So neat! Where else can you feed a zebra and bison?!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My kids chose this over Sea World (again)! You buy food and drive through in your car and can feed animals as you go through. Zebra, bison, long horns, antelopes, llamas, ostich, and Emu. You don't get out of the car. There are also giraffe, lemurs, and rhinos in other parts (that you aren't able to feed). Our whole family enjoys this place! Kids are 3 and 7. After the drive thru part, you can get out and visit the goat petting area. Gift shop and restaurant there too. Beautiful hilly drive to get there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Easy to find. Buy a program and an extra bag of food for $1.50 so you can have a bag of food for each side of the car. We went early and there were lots of animals eating hay and interested in eating our food too. Our 6 and 7 year olds loved it. Perhaps not quite as fun for the older kids. The bulk of the animals to feed are goats and deer and such. Nothing overly exotic. A tearless 45-minute drive up until the part when the ostrich stuck his head in our car window and snatched one of their bags of food. Beware of the hungry ostrich! The zebras are pretty aggressive, so you might want to raise your windows up a bit when passing them. Lots of fun! Petting zoo is about a dozen small goats and that's it, but you can feed them with the leftover food from your car tour. The parrots and monkeys in cages are quite a sight. Their facilities are clean, including the bathrooms, but the sinks are automatic and you can't get hot water or really any significant flow of water out of them. Again, very clean. The food in the snack shop is extremely expensive. They are probably pricing themselves out of sales. We just waited until we got back on the road even though we were hungry. We'd go back

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wildlife and Underground Experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved the great outdoors...the ranch experience of the wild game and the gentleness of some. The overall view of God's Gift to Mankind in the form of natural wonders.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must see for animal lovers of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Ok first off get there early cause crowds get bad, our first loop takes about 30 to 45 minutes, then as the crowd grows can take hours. Plus the animals are more friendly/hungry in the morning. You don't want to be the one to not get attacked by the ostrich lol... I have traveled a lot in my life, Utah to Florida, Maine to Missouri and everywhere in between and this is an all time favorite. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.