We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never get my business!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum

The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum
318 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
+1 210-247-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$21*
and up
Ranked #40 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Museums
Activities: Drinking, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 130 years, The Buckhorn Saloon has been known as a gathering place for good conversation, great food and spectacular wildlife exhibits. Explore the newly remodeled animal halls and prepare yourself for a truly immersive adventure. Practice your sharp shooting skills in our Toepperwein Shooting Gallery and explore over 500 different animals from around the world. The Texas Ranger Museum houses Texas Ranger artifacts including antique revolvers, automatic handguns, shotguns, badges, photographs and much more. Sip a refreshing drink as you stroll through the 33,000 square feet of artifacts from Texas history. Don't forget to grab a bite of delicious Texas BBQ in our Cafe and pick up some souvenirs in our gift shop! The Cafe is open daily for lunch from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM. Both museums open daily at 10:00 AM and close at 5:00 PM with extended hours during Spring Break, throughout summer and during the holidays. Call for exact closing times. Located two blocks from the Alamo and one block from the Riverwalk, The Buckhorn Saloon and Museum and Texas Ranger Museum have something for everyone!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will never get my business!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although this is not a bar they seem to have purposely setup their operations so that the saloon qualifies as a "51%" establishment. This criminalizes otherwise legal carry of a firearm on the premises - even the restaurant, museum or gift shop.

It's ironic that most of their souvenir tshirts have something to do with guns.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler20, Director of Sales at The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed in our 51% signage in the bar. We work exclusively with Don Strange Catering of Texas on all of our private events and due to that relationship, we were required by the Texas Alcohol and Beverage Commission to post that signage due to the evening party rental business. Our partnership necessitates this sign and there is nothing The Buckhorn Saloon and Museum can do about it. We are following the law. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will reconsider visiting another time.

Sincerely,

Karen Bippert
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Buckhorn Saloon & Musuem
sales@buckhornmuseum.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    107
    61
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had lunch in the café, just burgers and such, then toured the museum. It was worth the time, but it is a bit pricey ($18/person), and many of the stuffed animals are unlabeled. Better signage would really improve the experience. Many animals I had never seen, or seen only on TV. The Texas Ranger portion was a bit dry, but worth walking through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalikavak, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Alamo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staying with friends who live in San Antonio, how could I now go and see the Alamo after being brought up on the old westerns it was a must. San Antonio itself is a lovely, colourful place there is a specially built canal area close to the Hilton Hotel where everyone sits around with HUGE drinks whilst live Mexican music is playing, its has a real festival atmosphere. There are boutique type shops selling everything from carvings to Tex Mex pots, certainly a great way to spend the day.
However the Alamo was a total let down, it is a small building now a museum not at all like the movies although still interesting but how John Wayne ws chosen to play the lead roll when the real person was half his size, it was shock to see the mans clothes encased in glass and he was tiny !!! Even so San Antonio is worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“This place will blow you mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited the saloon as part of our city tour. There are so much to see in this place that you will want to spend hours there. When you first go in the entrance you will see hundreds of antlers on the ceiling. Once inside all you can do is say Wow. There are so many animal heads and antlers on the walls, floor, and ceilings that you it is hard to decide were to look. There are a lot of other displays from around the world. There is a large area about the Texas Rangers, amazing. There is a display of Bonnie and Clyde, and a ocean display.
The saloon has a restaurant that you can have lunch in but the menu is limited. But remember there are thousand of animal eyes watching you while you eat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If your into horns, this is your place. If your into history, forget it. The Texas Ranger Museum was a very small portion of this exhibit. 90% of it was horns. Very expensive and not worth the money. The saloon is not in it's original location.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.