We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaWorld San Antonio

SeaWorld San Antonio
10500 SeaWorld Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)
800-700-7786
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
Ranked #31 of 135 Attractions in San Antonio
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Aquariums, Amusement Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World's largest marine life adventure park covers 250 acres, which are comprised of four individual parks that bring exotic creatures from the sea into an urban jungle.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Premier Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the entry till we left, this has to be one of the best parks we've ever been to!

The shows were excellently done. The trainers were obviously in tune with the animals and it was pure joy to watch my kids enjoy the shows.

From the sea lion/walrus to dolphin show, it was phenomenal. Shamu was, of course, the highlight. Stunning animals and the trainers were approachable and answered questions.

There is no doubt the talent level of the employees is significantly higher than other places.

The rides were fun and well done.

Enjoyable place and well worth the dinero spent to get in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    553
    254
    89
    72
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How many times do you have to pay?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all, let me say that the park was awesome and we all enjoyed it very much; but.....the park is very expensive just to park and to get in the main gate. You are not allowed to bring food for you family or take pictures in many of the programs. Food priced are very high, for a family of four, and I had rather take your own family member pictures of them interacting with the animals. Not having to accept an overexposed picture that the park provides. This policy add big bucks to the total price of the visit. After that, regardless if you have a "Fun Pass", you really start to pay. If you want to go to one of the Interaction Program, purchased during an original visit; you have to pay to enter the park again "at the original price". Then you are allowed to enter the Interaction Program, even if you are not intending to participate in any other activity except the Interaction Program. The Park was in or near going under a few years back and if they continue to rip off our families, that support then, they will again be look for support. This could be a great learning and fun experience but families are in hard financial times and do not need yet another rip off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great if you plan right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Last year we came here and really didn't do any planning and after six hours in the park with a three year old we had realized poor planning on our part was the reason we didn't get what we could have out of the experience.

Flash forward to this year and it was awesome from the time we walked in at 10:00 a.m. to when they shut down the park at 9:00 p.m.

First off, wear clothing that you don't mind getting wet or really wet. We didn't do that our first year and were sorry for it. Swim suits are the way to go especially in San Antonio in July.

Get the app or grab a map with all the showtimes on it and plan a route right off the bat. The shows are typically only twenty minutes long no matter what show you watch. The shows aren't synced per se but if you move quickly you can get from show to show in rapid succession.

If you have young children make sure to bring a stroller with you, there is plenty of places to park your strollers anytime it isn't conducive to an attraction within the park.

Also there is plenty of fountains around the park with cold water to refill the water bottles you bring into the park. As you can imagine the food and drink inside the park can add up quickly.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time this year, with a bit of planning and downloading the park app you can really squeeze a lot of activity into your time there at Seaworld.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“By Far the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Especially compared to the long lines in Orlando, this place was so much better! Less lines, much cleaner, employees who loved their job, this place was enjoyed by everyone in our party!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We experienced the great roller coasters as well as many of the shows. The Acrobatic show is amazing. Shamu show is still pretty good even though the trainers do not swim with the whales anymore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaWorld San Antonio also viewed

 

Been to SeaWorld San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaWorld San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.