We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1754 N. Loop 1604 E., San Antonio, TX 78232 (Far North Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visiting Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel was a little hard to get too, a new interchange with Loop 1604 and Hwy 281 makes it difficult. A little planning may help.
Otherwise it was a very good facility, it met all our needs. Clean room, good bed, nice breakfast.
What's good about Comfort Suites is the sitting area. We were able to visit with our friends for a few hours in the privacy of our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    20
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
28
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights and really liked it. Like another customer had mentioned, it is in a convenient location if you want to travel to Austin, Corpus Christi (2.5 hours south), and to New Bruanfels area including the town of Gruene (pronounced green). You'll need a car to get to the River Walk downtown area and to the zoo and Japanese Tea Gardens. The hotel is located near Hwy 281 which took us to many different places. There are some good eating establishments nearby that are easy to walk to.
The breakfast was good. I had a strawberry waffle every day and it was delicious and looked forward to eating that every morning. The staff was very helpful and the manager was extremely courteous and helpful as well.
The outdoor pool was very clean even though we never had time to go for a dip.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located if you want to do things not only downtown but also north or west of the city. Our room was clean and neat. The only TV was in front of the bed so to watch from the living room you had to turn it and kind of sit at an angle which was a little awkward. We like to sleep with a/c fan on all night to drown out the noise and this air conditioning would not allow for this so it cycled on and off all night. The breakfast was what you would expect and on Monday they didn't have any Raisin Bran (ran out due to busy on the weekend). All they had was corn flakes or Fruit Loops. Not my favorites by any means. Very helpful staff with restaurant recommenations etc.

Room Tip: Request top floor, end of the hall for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was chosen for us as a part of a sled hockey tournament--the team was there last year, too. The hotel is across the parking lot from a movie theater and within walking/rolling distance of shopping, restaurants, and the ice rink.

Because the rooms are suites, there is lots of space to move around. I am not in a wheelchair nor was I in a handicapped-specific room, but I thought the bathroom vanity might be too high. I did notice a bar on the wall in the shower. One of my teammates was in a handicapped-specific room and said the shower was built right with the seat within reaching distance of the seat.

The free breakfast was decent. I noticed some folks in wheelchairs having trouble reaching some food items.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for fun. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay here the next time I'm in the area. It's kind of hard to find but it was worth it.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We live in a small town so we were so happy to be in walking range of multiple stores, restaurants, and a nice movie theatre. Safe area. The room was clean, breakfast was about average (not enough tables on Saturday), and the staff friendly. It is difficult to find. Look for the HEB store, Barnes and Noble, Northwoods Stadium 14 Theatre and exit ahead of time onto the access road if on 1604 coming from the West, or onto San Pedro if on 281

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesGM_txb2, General Manager at Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
TexasPackerFan,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. Our location is very convenient to restaurants and shopping and a movie theater next door is definitely a plus for the traveler. We look forward to you staying with us in the future and thank you for being our guest. We know you have a choice when seeking lodging and appreciate you choosing us.

Sincerely,


Jeff Vienne / General Manager
Comfort Suites - Stone Oak
1754 N Loop 1604 E
San Antonio, Texas 78232
(210) 495-5557
http://www.comfortsuites-stoneoak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel after reading the very good reviews on Trip Advisor but our experience was little less perfect.

The room: was good and spotless clean.

Breakfast: food was OK, but in the breakfast restaurant were only about 10 tables and it gave such a poor feeling to see less fortunate people, who did not get the chance to find a table, eating breakfast while standing, some of them holding babies as well. It was like in a train station. For a all-suites hotel, expecting large families, the breakfast room is sub-optimal.

The service: As I forgot the laptop charger in the previous hotel, I ask the lady at the reception to check if they have a spare charger I could use while in the hotel. She said she must ask the manager (as one can imagine, it was a difficult decision to borrow me a charger or not). After 1 hour I asked her again for the charger and she gave me a business card asking me to call in 1hour. Disappointing.
When returning in the night we asked again the front desk and a nice guy this time tried to help us. He did not have a charger that fit my laptop, but at least he tried.

Location: not in the city but OK if one have a car

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak

Address: 1754 N. Loop 1604 E., San Antonio, TX 78232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely Comfort Suites Stone Oak has a prime location in the growing corridor of San Antonio. This hotel is only minutes from the Methodist Hospital and attractions like the Alamodome multipurpose facility, the Alamo historic site, Six Flags Fiesta Texas amusement park, SeaWorld San Antonio and the San Antonio River Walk. The San Antonio International Airport is just a quick drive away. The hotel is walking distance to a movie theater, local restaurants, a shopping mall, an ice skating rink and much more. Here at the Comfort Suites Stone Oak, you'll experience luxurious accommodations and first-class customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Stone Oak Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.