We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food & drink!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Nacho's Cantina

Papa Nacho's Cantina
24165 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78257 (Northwest Side)
(210) 698-7879
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food & drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Delicious quality food. I'm very picky and critical and this place delivers! My husband had the fajitas- the beef was so tender and tasty! The borracho beans were good and the rice outstanding. I had the bacon wrapped grilled shrimp, perfectly done. We will be back- the menu was full of options that differ from the usual Mexican restaurants in town, and they all sound delicious! The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside, the real beauty is on the plate :) I almost forgot to mention that the margaritas were top notch too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Service - Food - Price. WOW on all 3!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've eaten here several times over the past 4 years and it surprises me that it just keeps getting BETTER! Let me explain... about 15 months ago, I was having lunch here and asked for some jalapeño slices on the side. It took a bit of explaining, but they happily complied. Eating here yesterday, they had a new menu item - jalapeño chicken enchiladas. I asked Kendall - our SUPER waitress (she asked if I'd like my Dos Equis served with a chilled or non-chilled glass) - if I could have the jalapeño enchiladas but with cheese. She quite happily said "Yes" and, on bringing them to the table, they came - without a request - sliced jalapeños!
On top of that, my wife's Chicken Chipolte was wonderful! The breast was flattened, cooked perfectly, smothered just right with a light, rich and "just-right" spicy.
These two exceptional dishes, coupled with Kendall's speedy, attentive service led me to recommend this experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great New Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food at the new location off 1604 and Stone Oak Is just as delicious as the original location in Leon Springs! Best Mexican food in San Antonio!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Papa's Is A Go To”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Mexican food here is good. But that is not the reason to come. They serve a wonderful version of grilled fish diablo. Opt out of the tasteless tilapia craze and ask for redfish or snapper. The sauce served over the fish is rich, but not too spicy as the name would imply.

Enchiladas, flautas etc. are on par with most folk's idea of their go-to place when they get the tex-mex craving.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Something Different in Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Located on the feeder road in Leon Springs, just north of San Antonio, TX, on IH-10 is a plethora of delectable dining establishments, one of which is Papa Nacho's Cantina. We enjoyed perusing the menu of interesting Mexican dishes you won't find at other Mexican food eateries. It was hard to choose between a delectable pan grilled white fish in a sauce of artichoke hearts, lemon and capers, accompanied with white Spanish rice and grilled veggie; or their wonderful Papa Nacho salad with romaine lettuce, white cheese chunks, walnuts, grilled chicken breast drizzled with a light lemon cilantro dressing. One of our group decided upon the bacon-wrapped and grilled shrimp with sides of Mexican rice and boracho beans. Staff is friendly, atmosphere casual, and facility spotlessly clean! It can get a little noisy with the sounds of laughter and visiting, so you might consider not arriving during peak dining hours if you want a quieter dining experience. We enjoyed our dining experience and will most definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Nacho's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Papa Nacho's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Nacho's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.