We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Mountainair NM, stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Motel

Rock Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Motel
Save
You added Rock Motel to your Saves list
901 U.S. Highway 60, P. O. Box 250, Mountainair, NM 87036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mountainair B&B and Inns
Valley Springs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“When in Mountainair NM, stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The other reviews are correct, the Rock Motel is "the" place to stay for the night. Rough looking on the outside, but very clean, large room, great shower, and the AC/heater works great. Quiet, even though on US 60 and and the trains are a few blocks away. Melita checks you in and runs the place, she is dedicated to a great stay. Mountainair, not much to the town but worth the time to check out...drive the back streets, get a feel of the "real" New Mexico. Have a beer at the Rosebud, visit the local grocery store or bring your own food. No place to eat in town.

Room Tip: Bring your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here when we were in Mountainair for the weekend. The room was extremely clean and in general the hotel seemed very well taken care of. There is a nice picnic area with BBQs in front of the hotel that provides a nice option if you're into cooking your own dinner.

We were disappointed that our room did not have the flat screen TV as was listed on their website, and there definitely weren't 100s of channels available. Also, the wifi was pretty spotty in our room. The staff did provide an ethernet cable in case we had wired devices but that wasn't much help for the phones.

The bathroom in our room had clearly been redone recently and was really nice. The shower was great and the vanity and lighting was nice. We really enjoyed how quiet the room was. We never heard any noise from the people on either side of us and cars/trucks on the highway were barely noticeable.

All in all this was a fine hotel. It's very easy to find, there's some diners and a great coffee shop very close by. Mountainair is a very nice little town with a surprising number of things to do. Overall we really enjoyed our weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, thoroughly renovated and reasonable priced. Friendly and helpful owners. We like it so much we stayed here twice as we came and went on vacation in southern New Mexico. They even have a large pavilion out front with BBQs so you can enjoy the breeze in the shade or cook a meal. We definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I wish I'd had more time to spend in Mountainair. If I get a chance to go back, I'll definitely try the Rock Motel first. The price was very reasonable, the room was comfortable and clean with more amenities than you might expect at this price, and the owners were very nice. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I visit Mountainair on occasion to visit some of New Mexico's best archeological sites...Gran Quivira, Abo Salinas and Quarai. All sites are within 30 minutes of town and best 400 year old Spanish mission architecture anywhere in NM. A drive through town takes less than 5 minutes, a gas station, old style hardware store and Alpine Alley for eats. You're on the edge of the Chihuahua desert and short grass prairies with the 'Salinas' just east of town. Salinas are the salt playas (pueblo source of salt) that you can still drive into if you have the right map that shows federal lands connected to public roads...stop into your closest BLM office and purchase these land status maps. Every NM traveler will need these. I've tried all the places to stay in Mountainair, that's why I need to tell you about the Rock Motel. It's well worth the price, clean, comfortable, service attendants are very good. The Rock has come a long way in the last 5 years, now when I'm passing through, that's where I stop, and you should too.

Room Tip: take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STUART
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Rock is located in the small town of Mountainair, New Mexico. This is an older motel that has recently been fully renovated. This is a family run motel and the owners really make you feel welcome.

The entire property is very clean and the rooms are large and spacious. Larger than some Farifield Inn's I have stayed in recently. The rooms include many great amenities such as a mini-fridge, microwave and free internet and long distance telephone. The Internet bandwidth was very good. I measured 6 MB down and 600 KB up. (Comparable to DSL.)

The new tile work in the bathrooms is really nice. Not your average hotel plain. Whomever did the renovations to this motel did a terrific job. They obviously have stayed in a lot of hotels. There are coat hooks in just the right places and many other conveniences that larger chain hotels are lacking.

Perhaps one of the best features on the property is the outdoor, covered area. They offer comfortable seating, gas grills and a fire pit that we enjoyed during our three night stay. Weather permitting, this is a great place to just hang out.

We visit this area frequently and we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Motel

Address: 901 U.S. Highway 60, P. O. Box 250, Mountainair, NM 87036
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mountainair
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.