We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Motel

Rock Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainair
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Motel
901 U.S. Highway 60, P. O. Box 250, Mountainair, NM 87036   |  
Ranked #2 of 2 Mountainair B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, thoroughly renovated and reasonable priced. Friendly and helpful owners. We like it so much we stayed here twice as we came and went on vacation in southern New Mexico. They even have a large pavilion out front with BBQs so you can enjoy the breeze in the shade or cook a meal. We definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I wish I'd had more time to spend in Mountainair. If I get a chance to go back, I'll definitely try the Rock Motel first. The price was very reasonable, the room was comfortable and clean with more amenities than you might expect at this price, and the owners were very nice. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I visit Mountainair on occasion to visit some of New Mexico's best archeological sites...Gran Quivira, Abo Salinas and Quarai. All sites are within 30 minutes of town and best 400 year old Spanish mission architecture anywhere in NM. A drive through town takes less than 5 minutes, a gas station, old style hardware store and Alpine Alley for eats. You're on the edge of the Chihuahua desert and short grass prairies with the 'Salinas' just east of town. Salinas are the salt playas (pueblo source of salt) that you can still drive into if you have the right map that shows federal lands connected to public roads...stop into your closest BLM office and purchase these land status maps. Every NM traveler will need these. I've tried all the places to stay in Mountainair, that's why I need to tell you about the Rock Motel. It's well worth the price, clean, comfortable, service attendants are very good. The Rock has come a long way in the last 5 years, now when I'm passing through, that's where I stop, and you should too.

Room Tip: take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STUART
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Rock is located in the small town of Mountainair, New Mexico. This is an older motel that has recently been fully renovated. This is a family run motel and the owners really make you feel welcome.

The entire property is very clean and the rooms are large and spacious. Larger than some Farifield Inn's I have stayed in recently. The rooms include many great amenities such as a mini-fridge, microwave and free internet and long distance telephone. The Internet bandwidth was very good. I measured 6 MB down and 600 KB up. (Comparable to DSL.)

The new tile work in the bathrooms is really nice. Not your average hotel plain. Whomever did the renovations to this motel did a terrific job. They obviously have stayed in a lot of hotels. There are coat hooks in just the right places and many other conveniences that larger chain hotels are lacking.

Perhaps one of the best features on the property is the outdoor, covered area. They offer comfortable seating, gas grills and a fire pit that we enjoyed during our three night stay. Weather permitting, this is a great place to just hang out.

We visit this area frequently and we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Motel

Address: 901 U.S. Highway 60, P. O. Box 250, Mountainair, NM 87036
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mountainair
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainair

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rock Motel to your Saves list