We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach House Inn
Save
You added Coach House Inn to your Saves list
284 Lafayette Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Cozy & Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Couch House Inn and we had a wonderful experience. Pat is extremely friendly and was happy to answer our questions and give us suggestions regarding our vacation in Salem. Our room, #27, was immaculate and had a private bathroom and fire place. The picnic basket breakfast delivered to our room every morning was perfect - pastries, fruit, OJ, and little chocolates.

As far as location, we were able to walk into Salem everyday with no problems. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the Inn.

We both hope to return to Salem someday and we plan to stay here again! Thank you Pat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
72
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

For the second year in a row, we absolutely LOVED our stay at the Coach House Inn. Pat welcomed us back for a six-night stay. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast brought to our door. Then we ventured into the city (on foot) at least twice a day. The walk is easy and more fun than driving downtown. Trust me, you'll be glad you aren't staying any closer to the traffic and insanity of Halloween revelers. But we were here for all thing spooky and Pat helped make our stay a blast. I got a bit teary-eyed having to say goodbye. We'll be back for round 3!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First of all, I've never seen a B&B with a full range installed! Looked more like a boarding house than a bed and breakfast. Place was clean enough, but smelled like gas. Could have been coming from the stove, or oven? The decor was definitely from years past, old wallpaper, bed comforters, etc.. The bathroom was clean though. Inn keeper wasn't too friendly towards us. Not very inviting at all. Left early the next morning for a flight, so no review of the continental breakfast. Would I recommend this place to others, absolutely not. Hawthorne Hotel is supposedly the nicest place in Salem, but they would not let a room for a one night stay..........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Baer 09,
It is not unusual to find a kitchenette in a B&B and in many fine hotel rooms across the country. In our case, the kitchenette is discreetly hidden behind louvre doors and is not an intrusive presence in the room. Since the range has been disconnected for a number of years I can't account for the gas smell you thought you detected.

There are many photos posted on Trip Advisor by guests that have stayed with us, which depict an accurate view of the decor. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we wish you well in your travels.

Sincerely,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manomet, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My room at this inn was quite nice, although somewhat noisy from street noise. The designation "b&b" for the inn is a misnomer,though, as there is no dining room or sitting area. The bed was comfy and the fresh fruit tasty. Breakfast was a bit of a picnic from a basket, which I ate on a tv tray in my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Paradox 1995,

Thank you for your comments. The designation B&B for our Inn is not a misnomer. For example, the Wikipedia definition of a bed and breakfast says, "breakfast is served in the bedroom, a dining room, or the host's kitchen".

The "tv tray" you reference is actually a replica of a hand painted metal tray reminiscent of the Victorian era.

We wish you well in your travels.

Kind regards,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This house is a historical beauty. If you are not bothered by walking 20 minutes into town or breakfast stay here. The host is lovely as well. But this should not be listed as a Bed and Breakfast. In the morning we received a basket full of muffins, juice in a plastic cup with a foil lid (like the ones on airplanes), and croisants. All of it seemed to be from Costco or something. We also had to make our own coffee in the room. If I am staying in a B&B it is for the home cooked hot breakfast and a nice chat with the host in the morning. Yes, the picnic basket is cute. But this was just not ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachhouseinn1, Owner at Coach House Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jolyne C,

Thank you for your comments. While our continental breakfast is not served in a dining room, most of our guests enjoy the departure from a common room atmosphere to that of a warm breakfast in bed, or at least, in the privacy of their rooms.

I must say, I am surprised by your comments about the food itself since the muffins are made by a local Salem bakery, family owned and operated for more than fifty years. The croissants are from Sara Lee. There is nothing in the basket from Costco or similar outlets.

One of the joys of having been the hostess at The Coach House Inn for the past 32 years has been the enriching experience of spending time with my guests from around the country and around the world.

Best wishes,
Patricia Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks back while doing some wedding shopping in the area. Our stay was great, clean rooms, & Pat the innkeeper was so nice & very knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was cozy & clean, and breakfast in the morning was great, Pat even gave it to us to go because we had to leave early. I'd recommend staying here, and would defiantly go back for another stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our room was on the third floor facing the street. There was some traffic noise but this did not disrupt our sleep---the window was closed at bedtime and the air conditioner/fan was turned on. I have stayed in many B&B's and would rate this as one of my favorites. Ms. Kessler was helpful and accommodating. The decor is beautiful and highly detailed. The location was convenient--close to everything. We felt right at home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Inn

Address: 284 Lafayette Street, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.