We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous portion, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Dusty's Ice Cream

Captain Dusty's Ice Cream
143 Derby St, Salem, MA 01970-5639
978-744-0777
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Ice Cream in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Generous portion, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A small dish yields a very generous portion, but the product here lacks the extraordinary richness and flavour one might expect from a shop boasting "homemade" ice cream. Still, if you're walking the red line (self guided tour through town) this makes for a cool treat on a hot day; but it's nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“where's the hospitality?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was actually pretty disappointed in this ice cream shop. The ice cream tasted ok, but kind of melted and soft. Outside of the dingy kind of atmosphere (it looks like the management has no interest in fixing this place up or improving it) the service was not good, kind of depressing. I wouldn't go back there. I almost gave them a rating of 2 stars for poor, but maybe it was an off night so I am giving them the benefit of a doubt.
In any case, while I was there someone came in the store with a young girl who really needed to use the restroom. The store was not busy at all and they very rudely sent them away saying there was no public bathroom. I can understand they don't want everyone back there using the bathroom, but this really looked like a special case and also, like I said, it wasn't busy AND they were not apologetic. They didn't say like "i'm so sorry, but we don't allow any public person to use the restroom, owner's policy..." or something like that, they were just very, very abrupt, didn't even bother to look at the person while they were sending them away, it was like a verbal slap in the face. Now, I get it, it's an ice cream joint, nothing special, they will give you an overpriced, melty ice cream if you want it, and they are right near the water, a nice spot to stroll around with an ice cream, but please, a little politeness wouldn't hurt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dusty's is Dee-Lish !! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved this place !! Very generous portions of creamy delicious ice cream at a very reasonable price !! You gotta try the "Witches Brew" flavor....so unique and delicious !! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream in Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived in Salem late in the afternoon and most places were starting to close. We paid a visit to Captain Dusty’s Ice Cream shop and ate the ice cream walking up towards the lighthouse. This place has some spooky flavours and it was delicious and the girl that served us was really helpful and friendly. If you visit Salem, pop in and get some ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So many choices of ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stopped in after dinner at Witches Brew Cafe and had a wonderful hot fudge sundae with frozen yogurt. Biggest sundae I've had in a long time! YUMMY

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dusty's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Captain Dusty's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Dusty's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.