We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Dusty's Ice Cream

Captain Dusty's Ice Cream
143 Derby St, Salem, MA 01970-5639
978-744-0777
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 215 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fresh and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fresh ice cream in a convenient walking/driving location in downtown Salem. Had fun eating ice cream recently while listening to the sounds of live, local tunes play from neighboring restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Really great ice cream! Nice atmosphere! We really enjoyed it! Good variety too! It was fantastic! Try it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home made ice cream and very interesting flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We looked at some of the reviews on this location and I think people may have expected too much from an ice cream parlor. The location is basic (small, not decorated, and not really intended for an eat in experience). The location is right on the main road, a short walk from the heart of Salem and is great for an evening stroll. The ice cream was home made and delicious. The only negative of this was the workers were uninterested college students. We went in, got our ice cream, and walked through Salem. Great ice cream and a great price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stopped here a few times when we were in Salem. Ice cream here is delicious and the portions are huge. I got a small and it was easily a medium.

We would stop in and then go sit on the rocks by the harbor or stroll around and look at the beautiful homes in Salem.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good nighttime treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Good ice cream for a fair price. Generous portion. They're open until 10, which is convenient. Located right on the water.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dusty's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Captain Dusty's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Dusty's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.