We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had o.k. experiences here but tonight was great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fantasy Island

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fantasy Island
516 Loring Ave, Salem, MA 01970-4239
978-745-1700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 212 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I've had o.k. experiences here but tonight was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've been here many times before in the past and usually it's average. Tonight I really enjoyed everything about it. The service was great. So many Chinese restaurant has gotten away from what they used to be. We got ice water, tea, bread with butter. At the end of the meal with got Pineapple with our fortune cookies. It reminded me of when I used to go out for Chinese as a kid. The waitress was very attentive. The food was hot and delicious. It did not taste like something that had been sitting for awhile. The boneless spareribs had hardly any fat, and they were triple the size of normal boneless spareribs. The Lo-mein was good. I was just really impressed tonight. I will return again soon for sure. The prices were average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“OK, when nothing else is open late at night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Food is OK, a place to go late at night when nothing else is open. Staff is very nice, kind of dark inside.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM, MA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Mai Tai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Mai Tais that are good tasting and strong, friendly and funny bartenders, tasty Hunan beef and lo mein made my afterwork funk go away. Good old school chinese restaurant,

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Strangely delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I ended up going here because last year on our visit to Salem we kept passing it because we got lost. So this year we decided we had to go there.

I was really surprised. From the outside, it looks a little on the odd side but the inside is the best decorated chinese restaurant I've ever been in, the food was delicious and the waitstaff was attentive. I ordered the Chicked Egg Foo Young and he had the Pork Lo Mein. The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is because there was no Egg Roll or Soup that came with the meal. However, you Do get a fresh warm bread basket. I also had a Zombie drink which was really good. I'm very surprised at how much we enjoyed our meal there. I'd definitely go back again when we're in the area!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and fun times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Always like going to Fantasy Island with Friday and Saturday nights offering entertainment in addition to good food.

Its a great place where people know each other and have a good time.

The food is very good with great crab meat rangoon and boneless spareribs. The singapore rice noodle could use a little more heat though.

Drinks are very good and at a decent price.

I would recommend it for a great night out.

Weekdays are quieter for those that don't like the entertainment.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fantasy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantasy Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.