We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the BEST frozen yogurt EVER.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kushco

Cafe Kushco
128 Washington Street, Salem, MA
978-745-6996
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 212 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Some of the BEST frozen yogurt EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My colleague and I stopped in here after lunch in Salem, seeing on their sign that they had frozen yogurt. The atmosphere inside was really nice, very warm and friendly, and the gentleman who helped us at the register was extremely kind and helpful. He explained the ordering process for the frozen yogurt, and we both ordered... and were quickly BLOWN AWAY by the awesomeness of it. They make their own frozen yogurt, and then add in your choice (and number) of incredible toppings, blending it all up into a smooth, delicious treat. AMAZING. I ordered a large (16 oz) and really, really wanted to finish it, but had to stop myself. Seriously - I live in Maine but am already plotting my next excuse to visit Salem just to pop in and get some more of this insanely delicious dessert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and roll-ups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped here on a whim for lunch. You order at the counter from a large wall menu - large in size and number of items on it. There's something for everyone. You'll get your drinks from the fridge behind you or at the fountain. Sides are pretty much non-existant but you can get a bag of chips. Some menu items are complete enough you won't need sides. Place your order, grab a table, and someone will bring your food to you. Or you can order take-out. I had a special sandwich that was basically a reuben - very yummy. My companion had a falafel & hummus roll-up that was good-sized. He gave it thumbs up. Kushco isn't on the main tourist drag but it's not far off. If you're facing the Bewitched statute just follow the sidewalk on your left-hand side until you reach an alley half way down the block. Kushco is just before the alley.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous sandwiches!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I went here to grab sandwiches for the beach with my husband and in-laws...everyone LOVED the sandwiches...we were all very hungry and even though they were huge sandwiches we ate the whole thing.

Definitely will be going back to try something else...as they had so many yummy things to eat...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible sandwiches and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we were astonished at the size and quality of the offerings at this little bistro - it looked like an area where college kids hang out - the seating was simple, do-it-yourself, no-frills, but the staff was so nice and the food was satisfying and delicious - I had the gyro - very, very nice and a friend had the Chef's Salad - huge and appetizing looking - she ended up taking most of it home!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Fro-yo. "Frozen yogurt" and awesome sandwiches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Never had frozen yogurt before and this was very good frozen yogurt! I love how they call it fro -yo too! And we had good conversation with the people there and workers and had a nice meal too! And they deliever frozen yogurt too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kushco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kushco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kushco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.