We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights in Salem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Salem Inn to your Saves list
Salem Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   7 Summer Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Holyoke MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 Nights in Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice inn. Central location made it easy to walk to everything we wanted to see. The room was comfortable but the bed was a little soft. Nice fireplace for the colder weather and a nice continental breakfast. Would definetly stay here again. Loved Salem. Had a great meal at Finz right on the water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Dave,
Glad you loved Salem and enjoyed your two night stay in Salem Inn's Curwen House. We'd love to have you stay with us again in the winter, so you can enjoy the warmth, ambiance and coziness of a fireplaced room. Please be aware that we are in the process of replacing many of our mattresses, and the room you stayed in is on our list.
Thanks so much for your kinds words, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    125
    52
    36
    53
See reviews for
72
194
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Inn is located in a beautiful area ... a quick walk to most locations. We enjoyed the residential neighborhood it was located in....so many beautiful homes. We had a honeymoon suite ... it was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was decent, I wouldn't expect anymore based on the price paid for the room.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear MamaHM,
We couldn't agree more with you that the Salem Inn is in a terrific location, adjacent to the incredible McIntyre Historic neighborhood. In fact, the entire nearby Chestnut Street is on the National Register of Historic Places, and has often been called one of the most beautiful streets in America.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and your honeymoon suite, too.
Thanks, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Peabody House in a family suite. Great room(s) for the three of us with a cute little kitchen too. Minutes walk from everything Built in 1874 it has so much character like the rest of Salem. Small parking lot in back so there is some off street parking on busy Summer Street but once you park you can pretty much leave it. Would definitely stay here again! Breakfast every morning too from 8-10 I think

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Stingrayboots,
Nice to hear that our family suite in the Peabody House, with its convenient kitchenette, suited your family of three.
The parking area behind the House has more than enough spaces to accommodate all the guests staying there, and the walk to downtown is a very short one.
You are correct. Our free, hearty buffet breakfast is served daily from 8 10 in our main building, the Captain West House.
Thank you for taking the time to write. Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a pleasant inn located on one of the main routes from the airport, so a convenient place to go within 20 minutes of landing at Boston Logan rather than struggling to drive into central Boston. The inn is old and seems a little faded, but perfectly clean and well-equipped and full of character. The room had a fireplace, and the bed was queen sized. We were at the back so the traffic didn’t bother us. Also, we were on the ground floor so luckily we didn’t have to drag our luggage upstairs. We were in the main building-the West House-where you check in, eat breakfast etc. Parking was nearby in a car park behind one of the other houses, but luckily we found one of the free parking spots directly outside, where we could park without paying all day and night. Breakfast was good-it can be taken in the small courtyard, which is nice in hot weather. There was a hearty selection of bagels, muffins, cakes, cereal, melon and a quiche. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all that Salem has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house (West House) downstairs and at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lilgecko,
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn with other travelers. You are the ideal guest, as you certainly appreciate the ambiance and character of our inn, and everything we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Salem Inn is a good place to stay within walking distance of main sights in Salem. They have new rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast is continental but mostly packaged items rather than fresh. Try to get a room off of the main street as is pretty loud in the morning (traffic). Would come back again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Adam,
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion of our historic Inn. I'm pleased you found our new beds comforable, and our location convenient, in the the heart of our little city. As you point out, we are located on a major taraffic route, so light sleepers should request one of our many rooms off the street.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a beautiful Inn, the room was a perfect fit for our family of 5. The only draw back was taking the luggage up and down the stairs. The location was great,once we found our place to park we left the car and walked everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear BDX2,
I'm so pleased that one of our family suites was the perfect fit for you and your family of five. As a historic inn, we do not have elevators, and with rooms on four floors, sometimes a hike up is required. We do advise guests, both verbally and in our literature, of this fact.
I'm glad, too, that you enjoyed our superb location in our city center, near to all of Salem's wonderful attractions, museums, restaurants and shops.
Thank you again for writing. Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I just saw the movie 'Albert Nobbs' about an early 20'th century hotel in Ireland, and this place has the same flavor (except it doesn't have a restaurant). If you don't mind walking a block from the parking lot and carrying your luggage up to the third or fourth floor, this hotel has all the charm you'd expect from an older building. (By the way, the parking lot isn't near as far away as the review by Ernest H says!) The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and welcoming. If you like the aesthetics and standardization of amenities of a modern hotel, don't pick the Salem Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid street noise. The superior rooms with jetted tubs are proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddpabich, Owner at Salem Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear CKTravellor,
Thanks so much for sharing the essence of what the Salem Inn is all about - it is a historic inn with three buildings on the National Register, built in 1834, 1854, and 1874 respectively. Most of our rooms are very spacious, and we try hard to make them welcoming for our guests.
You are right on in advising others not to pick our Inn if they want the standardization of a modern hotel, as we are anything but. However, we certainly try to be state of the art with amenities such as large high definition, flat screen TVs, and spacious, comfortable king and queen beds.
Thanks again for taking the time to write. Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Inn

Address: 7 Summer Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. 40 charming guestrooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or longer stays. Complimentary breakfast, sherry night cap, free internet access, YMCA passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.