We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, charming atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turners Seafood

Turners Seafood
Church St., Salem, MA 01970
978-745-7665
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Turners Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, charming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family enjoyed a delicious meal here this past weekend. My husband raved about the Fisherman's platter, great variety of fish. My daughter had the salmon on special and said it was delicious. I am not a fish eater but had the scampi style pasta with chicken and it was very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Rubberboot
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seafood prepared by those who know seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

excellent service, marvellous food, great wine list. crab cakes, scallops, mussels, the lot - fresh and delicious all around. well planned layout allows for quieter dining and casual bar seating. we were able to secure a table with a last minute reservation, thanks Paula!
we popped in the next day for a quick libation at the bar (the sun was over the yardarm....) and we were served with the same care as if we were dining. everything clean and well maintained. looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant in Old Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious dinner here right before a night tour of Old Salem. Service was fast, efficient, and personable. Wine selections were interesting, and we were very pleased to see a South African wine listed...they are sometimes difficult to find. We started our meal with a half dozen of their fresh, local, raw oysters. Well presented and delicious. For dinner we shared a cup of New England Clam Chowder (thick, creamy, well seasoned and chock full of clams), a lobster role, which my husband enjoyed, an appetizer size order of Maryland style crab cakes. They were expertly prepared, seasoned, and cooked. Our server made sure we had plenty of time to get to our night tour, without rushing us. A wonderful experience. As a side note, our Night Tour guide told us Turner's had recently opened at this location. You would never know it - it was a seamless experience. We would return

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Therese, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my best choices of restaurants in Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Enjoyed their selection of fresh food and wine. Restaurant is clean and inviting. Staff is wonderful. You will enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner there a few days ago and I already want to go back! It is a very nice restaurant with a great atmosphere and great service. After viewing a video on their website, I just had to go and try their Finnan Haddie. It is a delicious dish consisting of smoked haddock in a creamy sauce with onions. Our waiter was very professional and helpful when it came to any questions about the menu. He even suggested places to visit during our stay in Salem. This place is a gem!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turners Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turners Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.