We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
30 Northey Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room was warm and inviting, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was something to look forward to every morning (homemade scones and muffins with delicious fritata!). The host was fantastic as well, very helpful and nice the whole time. It is the perfect distance away from downtown Salem, just a few minutes walk and yet almost no traffic on the street. If we stay in Salem again, it will be here.

Green Features: Flora does the best she can to be energy efficient and use green products, which I really appreciated!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your experience here. We're delighted to hear you "found the room inviting" as we warmly welcome all all guests and strive to give all our rooms that inviting atmosphere and decor. Thank you also for noticing that we strive to minimally impact the environment in how we run our business. Your comments are much appreciated.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    54
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
144
328
31
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Northey House. It was extremely quiet and peaceful. This B&B is located quite close (not more than a 10 minute walk) to Essex Street where many of the attractions are. Our breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious, and we enjoyed such a wonderful conversation with Flora.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Flora and her lovely B&B as part of our USA honeymoon from Australia. Unfortunately we were limited to only being able to stay for one night, though we would have loved to added another night or two to our stay in Salem and at Northey Street House (I am also aware that the owners prefer a longer duration stay, if possible).

Our first impression was that Flora was more than helpful. She was flexible in our check-in time and offered to take our very heavy bags up the stairs for us (all rooms are on the upper level besides the Garden Room). We were a little taken-aback by the 'shoes off' policy, but soon became comfortable with the idea, which was made a little easier by the thoughtful touch of providing shoeless guests with clean slippers to wear throughout your stay.

Flora gave us a tour of our room and the common areas, ensuring we were familiar with which switch operated what. She also provided suggestions on her favourite dining experiences in the town, which we found helpful. Another lovely touch was the availability of complimentary snacks for the guests, as well as coffee and as many teas as you could think of. We were especially grateful for the ability to use a computer with complimentary internet & printer access, to get some of our future travel documentation in order for the next stage of our journey.

We stayed in the Captains Room, which was decorated beautifully and felt nice and cozy to be in. The room was clean, the ambience being what you would expect & enjoy from boutique accommodation experience.

In the morning, we were greeted with freshly baked muffins and cake, fruit, bread, condiments as far as the eye can see and fresh coffee. Flora sat with us while we ate, which also provided an opportunity to talk about where else in the USA we were headed and what was a must-see.

Location-wise, it seemed to be within walking distance of everything. However it was a bit chilly when we headed out for dinner at the waterfront precinct so Flora helpfully called us a taxi. The following day there were no immediate guest check-ins expected, so Flora was happy for us to leave our car in the off-street car park which allowed us to do a little more exploration of Salem the next day before we had to leave.

Overall, we had a very positive experience and would not hesitate to recommend Northey Street House to anyone who is looking for a stay away with more personality, spirit and personal attention than you would find in your standard chain brand hotel / motels. Definitely a B&B to remember :)

Green Features: A+++ for all the effort Flora puts into creating and maintaining a green business. The only place we stayed in the USA which had a recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Flora and her husband, Jeff, are delightful, as are their friends, whom we met one morning. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. The breakfasts made by Flora were delicious. Coming from a very energy conscious city, Palo Alto, Ca, we were very impressed with all of Flora's "green touches". We strongly recommend this B & B; it was terrific.

Room Tip: First floor room just to the left after you walk in through the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were just having an overnight in Salem and wanted something that gave us easy access to the main town. This B&B also has off street parking which is really great..

We were warmly welcomed by the owner Flora who is extremely friendly and easy going. Flora showed us around the house, and yes there is a no shoes up the stairs policy but actually we have that rule in our house so not such a big deal. Slippers are provided but we just wore our socks upstairs which wasn't a problem.

Our room (The Woodbury) was located on the 1st floor. The room is very big and was decorated very tastefully. It also had a very big bathroom which is always good!

We enjoyed being able to pop upstairs and get some ice (for our drinks) and snacks (Flora has some snacks in the kitchen for her guests). Flora provided us with a map and suggested an area and a few places to eat that night. There is also an information album in the room with a history of the house which is a good read.

We had a good night's sleep, the bed just felt like ours at home! The linens on the bed were lovely and soft too I might add!

Flora provided us with a lovely breakfast which included the famous 'Morning Glory Muffins (yummy), scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee. We were offered cereals, toast, etc but we were totally full!

We enjoyed chatting with Flora that morning over breakfast, talking about her passion for recycling and what we do in the UK and what she and her community are doing. Was great hearing about how we are all making a difference.

We would certainly recommend the Northey Street House B&B to anyone looking for a lovely character filled property in Salem.

Green Features: Really impressed with Flora's passion for being environmentally friend and commend her on all her efforts!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling to Salem for years and booked our stay at the Northey House this year.

What a lovely place!

The room was decorated so nicely and was very clean. Flora is an excellent hostess and the breakfast was delicious.

The house is off the Common, but the walk was quite nice. Yes, the sidewalks are tough in the evening due to the various tree roots upending the sidewalks, but we walked in the street and had no issues (the street is a road less traveled, so it's not dangerous to walk in the street).

My advice is to experience this lovely inn yourself - my husband and I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location, cozy, quiet and comfortable. Make sure you pack light if you're upstairs, ask Flora where your room is. We had enormous suitcases and it's a bit tight for that, but everything else was just wonderful! Incredible breakfasts, snacks. Easy walk downtown and easy to communicate with owner.

Room Tip: Use your shades in the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Flora is a very green proprietor, loved that about her. Recycles everything!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30 Northey Street, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House Hotel Salem
Northey Street House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.