We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
30 Northey Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Northey Street is in a great location. It is far enough away that you get the neighborhood feel and quiet street, yet within walking distance to all the sights Salem has to offer. We stayed in the two room suite September 6-10. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beautiful garden seating area added to the ambiance of the experience. Breakfast was delicious. Each morning we woke to fresh fruit, homemade muffins, quiche, eggs to order, yogurt and granola. Hospitality was top notch. The owner's vast knowledge of restaurant and tourist attraction recommendations far exceeded our expectations. The house itself has been beautifully restored and the owner a delight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    560
    50
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
140
316
30
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's been 20 years since we married and visited B&B's in the Southwest, using a trifold brochure and making phone calls to determine where to stay. Now we jump online, look for top ratings and see pictures of everything.
That said, Northey Street House covers EVERY detail of an excellent B&B. Excellent communication prior and day of arrival, check, beautiful clean room, check. Proprietor gave dinner recommendations, check. And breakfast on both days was tasty, appealing, appropriate to our diets, with casual conversation both enjoyable and non-intrusive.
What I truly loved was the room - places to put our suitcases, plenty of towels, extra toilet paper and other supplies, comfortable bed, TV & DVD with access to a great selection of movies, good shower power, you know - those things that aren't essential, but make the visit a step above. My husband loved the walking distance to Salem attractions and restaurants, especially the Lobster Shanty. An excellent B&B in every detail.

Green Features: Proprietor was awarded for installing solar panels, now that's making the extra effort!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Clean, Location, and breakfast was great. Parking is tight but doable. Visit the PEI Museum. $15 entrance fee and $5 more for special exhibits. Done the witch thing before but was told by many to come on Halloween or a blast. People in street costumes are the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a great time at this lovely B & B.Close to everything,very comfortable & great breakfasts.Flora very helpful & knowledgeable about restaurants &attractions.Take the ferry to Boston.for the day well worth the trip.

Room Tip: If staying on the ground floor there is still a flight of stairs to climb for breakfast.Apartment is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay/visit and found us "close to everything" and that you had such a wonderful experience at our B&B. We sincerely appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit to the Northey Street House.

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Northey Street B&B for 3 nights and had such a great time in Salem. The B&B was great. Super comfortable and quiet. I know it was booked full but the place is so solid you don't hear anything from the other rooms!
We were in the Captain's room and it was very comfortable. With the perfect New England summer weather we were gone most of the days and back in the evenings.
Flora's breakfasts are awesome and would keep us filled up till the mid afternoon!
I really enjoyed the morning breakfasts and meeting all the different people. We walked everywhere and never moved the car the whole 3 days.
While we were there we hit several of the witch museums, house of 7 gables, trolley, Hocus Pocus walking tour (super informative!) & Peabody Essex Museum. We ate at the Old Spot, Victoria Station & the Lobster Shanty - all very good. Each morning you can find out what Flora suggests and/or what the other guests have done. It was a great stay and we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I really don't thing there is a bad room unless you can't do stairs.
See more room tips
Green Features: Super friendly. Flora has a garden out back with fresh stuff she uses to cook with. Rain barrels, solar panels. The fan in the bathroom has a motion sensor so it quietly comes on when you are in there. Plus I'm sure there's other stuff I didn't notice!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you found it "Super comfortable and quiet" here and that you enjoyed your stay in the Captain's Quarters. We have plenty of great breakfast offerings from the homemade "scuffins/scone-like muffins" to the fruits and frittatas intended to keep you well nourished for all your site-seeing tours.

Most guests do exactly what you did, park their car and never have to move it for the duration of their stay, as they can walk to all the attractions. Sounds like you folks made the most of your trip and saw much of Salem.

I'm always fascinated to meet descendents of well known local people/heroines even and was intrigued by your story. Thank you for sharing!

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I had our first vacation in the New England area and spent 3 days @ Northey B&B. The service was exceptional personal. The accommodations in our studio were pleasantly decorated, and the breakfast was over the top!

Room Tip: Flora is very accommodation to what you need. It's best to chat with her for an exchange of conv...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle is easy to do since it's all set-up in our room.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

During an East Coast road trip, my boyfriend and I decided to stop in Salem, staying at the Northey Street House for a couple of nights. We were so happy we did! Flora was such a good host - informative, helpful, and easy to talk to. She fed us delicious, hearty yet healthy breakfasts and gave us plentiful Salem sightseeing tips. We even asked her where we should stop on our way up to Maine and her suggestion of walking the Marginal Way in Ogunquit, Maine was awesome - so great in fact that it was where my boyfriend became my fiance! I have Flora partially to thank for a knee-weakeningly romantic proposal by the sea.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Congratulations!!! How wonderful! I'm happy to take the blame for any participation in this delightful union. I'm so glad the journey leading up to the proposal was all positive and that you enjoyed your stay and visit in Salem. All the best to you both. Perhaps I might have the pleasure of welcoming you folks again on a return anniversary trip ;)

Shalom,
Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30 Northey Street, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House b&b
Northey Street House Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list