We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Midnight Saviors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
New York, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Midnight Saviors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

After many long hours of driving, my friend and I ended up in Salem with no place to stay at 1 am. Being turned away already from the full hotel up the block, we asked where else we could try. We were pointed in the direction of Waterfront, or as we shall always remember it, "Saving Graces Angels Rescue." Sandy was the lovely woman who greeted us tired travelers when we hobbled in at 1 in the morning. She was warm, delightful, and exactly what we needed. Of course, being the summer season and being so late almost all the rooms were booked. Except for the last, biggest, most expensive suite. Sandy offered what was available with utmost grace and mercy, coating every word with sympathy like honey on a spoon. She offered us a great discount, but the room was still just out of budget for us. That's when the fabulous Ryan popped his head out from the back room and dropped the prices even lower so that we were able to afford an amazing four room suite, king sized bed, two TV's, kitchenette, and robes. ROBES! After the two of us gushed our thank you's over and over, like Ol' Faithful in full glory, Ryan so graciously talked us through what we should see/do/eat the next day and Sandy showered us in keepsake chocolates, t-shirts, and pint glasses. My friend and I have traveled since we were children, we are no stranger to what hospitality is and/or should be. This is by far THE BEST hospitality we have ever received…. world. wide. So, to Sandy and Ryan: Thank you for everything! You two are the reason we love Salem! Hope you enjoyed the wines we left you! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    296
    60
    23
    30
See reviews for
391
426
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great location on Pickering Warf. NIce for boaters and out of town guests. Located close to most of the sites. You can walk to most locations.
There was a wedding the first night we checked-in. So the hotel was busy and focused on the wedding guests, etc. Noise wasn't a factor but you could tell the wedding party took over the place.
Checking in was very busy and they gave our room keys to another party whom walked into our room. After a chat with the front desk and new keys issued all was fine. I think the front desk was rushed and gave keys since we had an ajoining room setup.
Bottled water is complementary throughout your stay so that was nice. Housekeeping did a nice job.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, upper level room with a view of the warf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went to Salem for a day trip on the sound we decided to stay overnight and at 9:30 am entered the hotel to see if they had a room. The desk clerk said she was not sure she took our cell phone number and would call us if a room became available. We continued on our journey to the pier where we took our sea shuttle to Misery Island while on the island the hotel called and they did have a room we booked it and enjoyed the rest of our afternoon. Sandy one of the desk clerks was especially nice as my husband is an early morning wondered and she kept him busy while I slept. The pool was just right and we enjoyed it both in the evening and early the next morning. This hotel is walking distance to many of Salem's historic sights. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good. We only saw ours but it was very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love this hotel - 1st class accommodations and staff (Katie & Renee - thanks for the upgrade). Right by the waterfront. Great bar and restaurant. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Salem to chose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, we were very pleased at the outset. Our room, a family two room suite, was ample sized for my husband and I and our two sons. There were flat screen TV's in each room, and the living room came with a dining room table and chairs, and a wet bar area with a refrigerator. It appeared clean. The bathroom was ok, with only one sink, but a good size. The beds were hard and seemed old. When we pressed down on the mattress, we could hear the springs. The pillows were like rocks. The front desk staff was friendly. There was no bellman, but there were carts available to bring our own luggage up. The air conditioners were loud, but otherwise the hotel was quiet. It was very hard to sleep with the beds and pillows being so uncomfortable. Having come from the west coast, we slept in late in east coast terms, and left our room to explore Salem at 12:30 pm. When we came back Lin the early evening, the room was not serviced. There was a note that was skid under the door stating if we didn't leave our room by noon, it would not be serviced. We came to the front desk and asked for some towels at least, and they actually did make our beds and provide fresh towels while we were at dinner---it just didn't seem like a professional attitude to go so far as to slide a note under the door requesting we be out by noon for cleaning--on west coast time, it would have been 9:30 AM, which we thought was a reasonable time to get up and out. The location of the hotel was wonderful, walking distance to all the Salem attractions and museums.

Room Tip: Even by the elevator shaft, the room was quiet! But watch out for hard beds and pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a great time Gina and Briana were most welcoming and made sure that all of our needs were met. It is in a great location walking distance for all attractions and the restaurant in the hotel was the best! Had amazing white sangria, chowder ,( lobster roll is the best !!) and served excellent breakfast!Free parking in a secure parking lot.Pool very nice.
The beds were comfortable and very clean and well maintained. Would stay here again and bring friends!

Room Tip: nothing specific - all was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here in June during a 4-day visit to the area. Room was very nice, staff was incredibly friendly and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. The girls at the front desk were extremely helpful with advice on everything from restaurants to transportation back to Boston. The breakfasts at the hotel restaurant were always what we ordered and waitstaff was attentive without hovering. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: The hotel did host a couple of wedding receptions while we were there, and guests were a bit rowdy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.