We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay when in Salem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The only place to stay when in Salem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

when looking for a full service hotel, with clean rooms, friendly courteous staff, fabulous atmosphere and great location to the sites. look no further than the waterfront hotel! This is the only place to stay in when visiting Salem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    297
    60
    23
    30
See reviews for
391
426
41
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wonderful location with easy access to places of interest, dining out, etc. We found the Regatta Pub to be most convenient for meeting our breakfast and evening needs in the course of our tours. The staff there and throughout the hotel were most accommodating and their service was consistently excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our stay was for four nights and we would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's been 4 years since we stayed at this hotel and noticed a number of wonderful improvements since our last stay. We stayed for 7 nights and were placed on the newly implemented concierge floor (4th). What a delightful stay. The people that work at this hotel make it work to perfection. Our room was a king with a dry bar. For $15 per day per room, you get a cont. breakfast and light snacks in the late afternoon. I found this a bit of a "cash cow" as what they put out was not really worth the money they were asking. But hey, it's a business and they have to make money. Enough about the bad...on to the good, or excellent as the case may be. Snacks get put out in the lobby at 2p.m. and they were delightful. Fruit, or freshly made chocolate chip cookies and cider and those apple fritters were to die for! The displays in the front lobby change every couple of days, and they are a delight. So welcoming and innovative in their design and presentation. The room was lovely, clean and had a great view (but not of the water:(. The bed was so comfortable, that I had the best nights sleep I've had in years! This place has a pool (one of the few in Salem) and is centrally located and close to everything in the old part of the town.
On to service...well, the best is hardly enough praise enought for this establishment. Suffice to say, that I came a stranger and left with friends. Special mention should be made for 2 exemplary employees that made our stay so special. Kristen, who we met when she was doing the evening snacks on the concierge floor. Funny, friendly and hardworking, this young woman was so helpful. She was a delight and everyday and night showed a genuine concern and interest in how we were doing. Hardworking, she was always, every night, there to serve and answer any and all questions we had. Another remarkable employee at this place was Ryan, whom I met when he was working as concierge. He greeted everyone with a smile whether he was fluffing pillows in the main lobby or answering the telephone. Everytime I entered the hotel, he made a point of asking me how my day was, and after 2 days I realized that he wasn't just doing his job, he REALLY cared! On our last day, we met in the parking lot as we were about to leave. He gave up his breaktime to stay and talk to me and gave me a hug goodbye! Needless to say, I left the hotel with a few tears in my eyes as I felt I was leaving behind some very special people. General Manager take note: you have some pretty wonderful people working for you. Thank you Ryan & Kristen for making this one of the best vacations ever...and believe me, I've travelled a lot, but never, ever felt as welcome as I have at this hotel. Don't know when I'll be back...but when I do, It's your hotel that I'll be staying at. I will also recommend your hotel to all of my friends as I have in the past. It's people that make a place work and this place ROCKS! Stay here...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beautiful hotel within the midst of everything Salem has to offer. Easy walking distance to the fright and not so frightful sights, including the House of Seven Gables and the Schooner Friendship in the witching city. Wished we planned better and could have stayed longer. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful place and perfectly located to everything within walking distance in Salem. We stayed 2 nights. The front desk personnel were so nice and cheerful every time we either came into the hotel or walked off the elevator and past the desk. The room was clean as clean could be. In-room coffee and the only thing I asked of the cleaning people was a bit more coffee for the next day and sure enough, we got it. The rooms were quiet, spacious, comfortable. We had breakfast in the restaurant and they were friendly as well, and breakfast was great! I was VERY glad I picked this hotel, as we didn't move our car the whole time we were there, and it was located perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was fabulous, I stayed on the 4th floor which gave me a choice of breakfast foods & later afternoon snacks. The service & food was awesome. Dine at there restaurant the food was awesome a lot of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in a junior suite, and felt it was great value for the money. Comfortable bed, clean room, and crisp modern decor. If you need to print a boarding pass for your flight, the front desk does it for you. All the staff provided great, cheerful service. I hated to leave, but I'll be back on my next visit to Salem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.