We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina
225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Salem
El Segundo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived on a stormy night, check in was a little lack luster, given my keys and thats about it (gentlemen at the front desk seemed eager to return to their conversation, I clearly interrupted). We arrived at our room 306, appeared to be clean, showed some obvious signs of wear and tear (scuffed walls, furniture showing some wear and the bathroom had some dingy corners). Not much of a view (but that was ok). We spent very little time in our room. The walls (as previously stated) are very thin, nevertheless we slept comfortably and enjoyed nice hot showers (very good shower pressure). Checkout was efficient and overall better experience than check in due to Jenny - she was friendly, informative and eager to please. The hotel is also in a great location, despite the bad weather, we were able to walk everywhere which made for an overall nice trip! For the value (if on special) we would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    261
    52
    19
    26
See reviews for
355
369
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Whenever my husband and I go to visit family in Salem, this is the only hotel we stay at. We have been there numerous times, and the hotel is consistently clean, comfortable, many upscale touches, (love the cookies and fresh flavored water in the lobby mid- afternoons). In all our stays, we have always found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating and always professional. The restaurant/pub in the hotel has really good food which is not always the case in smaller hotels. We had a few meals in the restaurant this past visit, and our server, Lori, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has I pads on loan (only a few on hand), and when ours had a glitch, we called the front desk, and a staff person was in our room within one minute making a call to re-boot. This attention to the needs of the guests is consistent with all our stays.

Room Tip: The mini suite has a fridge, a comfortable couch, and granite furniture. Flat screen tv and wi fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My friends and I have stayed at the Salem Waterfront several times. We all really love it. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large, are spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean. The rooms have a mini fridge which is a really nice amenity. They also supply coffee and tea in your room. We really enjoy the location of the hotel on Pickering Wharf as you can walk to just about everything which is great. There are a lot of nice restaurants and shops in the area too. This is the only place we stay in Salem.

Room Tip: So far all rooms that I have booked have been terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here during an unplanned stop in Salem. The room was clean, attractive and comfortable, with nice amenities. Restaurant was clean, and the food was good. Very pleasant and helpful staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I state here for a conference and was struck by the friendly staff. The rooms are huge and well appointed. There are plugs by the head of the bed for your phone. The free wireless is easy to connect to. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband is in a wheel chair and finding places that cater to the handicapped is next to impossible, well this place was wonderful, he was easily able to use the bathroom and could park his chair right next to the bed without any problems. Plenty of room in the room and bathroom for a wheelchair, and the restaurant. When we come to Salem we will only stay here.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was very quiet with a view of the parking lot, not the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very good choice. Nice staff and room was clean, including the bathroom (big deal to me). It is located in the middle of the tourist part of town which allowed us to park our car and walk. If two of you I would recommend the king size room. Ours was quiet and had a partial view of the waterfront.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina

Address: 225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.