We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina
225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Salem
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I booked their romance package after some searching online in the area. Decided to pick this hotel over the Hawthorne and a B&B because their rooms seemed to be bigger.

Called for a reservation 4 days before the trip. The clerk was very helpful, answering all my questions.

Checkin was quick and efficient. Front desk staff is very friendly and professional. Had many recommendations for us on where to eat. One nit is the parking. They don't have a huge parking lot next to the hotel. I think they have additional parking nearby, just not as convenient. Given the density of the area, this is not surprising. Besides, you'll be doing quite a bit of walking anyway, so what's a little more. We did get lucky and found a space.

Our room was a king dry bar on the 4th floor. Was able to see a bit of the water from there. Room was nice and clean. Very comfy bed. Room was a bit dark due to their use of green floresent bulbs. No big deal. It added to the romance.

The romance package included roses, chocolate truffles, and a gift card to their restaurant. Truffles were amazing and their restaurant is good.

Overall a heat stay. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience while you were our guest. It was chock full of great insight for people who have never stayed with us before. I am certainly glad that you enjoyed your Romance Package, which is one of our most popular here at the Hotel. You review hits home in regards to our location. As soon as you park your car in our lot you don't have to worry about driving again for the rest of your time here in Salem. We are located within walking distance to all of Salem's attractions. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    262
    52
    19
    26
See reviews for
356
371
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011 via mobile

Moved here after a horror of an experience at the Salem Inn, and what a difference. This hotel is great, wonderful staff, great location, good value. Every aspect of this hotel was well worth the money and I highly recommend staying here when you visit Salem. I would come back to this hotel again any time. And I would like to say ahuge huge thank you to Emily at the front desk who helped us move there and was so gracious and helpful. As well as her manager who gave us free deserts and a gift card to the regata restaurant. This is the way a hotel should treat its guests! I am very impressed with them and their location is awesome, central to everything!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel for a wedding and was the best time ever! Loved that the had coffee at front desk at ALL times! Had breakfast at the bar was good! Food at the wedding was so good! Service is always with a true smile! Look all around at what they had to offer and is nice but didn"t use gym or pool but looked clean! I just had a great stay! Beds were OK but not my bed so hard to say! Loved hanging out in lobby , very cozy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The hotel was beautiful, the staff was awesome! Spent five days there with my mom to get away and we had the most incredible time! Highly recommend staying there. Beds are so comfy I wanted to take one home with me but couldn't get it in the car!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Pebbles: Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience while you were one of our guests. It is great to see that you not only loved our wonderful hotel but you also recognized how AWESOME our staff is. This is the kind of experience that we strive to provide each and every guest! See you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

The hotels location is really great. It's within walking distance to most of the places we wanted to go. The room was fine and the service was great, from the front desk to the restaurant staff. Of course the kids loved the pool! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
NH_MOM: What a great review! Thanks for sharing you experience with our loyal tripadvisor fans! We are proud to have the one and only pool located in a hotel/b&b in the entire city of Salem. This means that we get to host tons and tons of families on their travels to our historic and fun city! We hope to see you on your next trip back to Salem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

From start to finish we had a great stay. Slept great, whether cliental or luck we couldn't hear any of the hall talking or doors open and closing that often happens in hotels. Helpful staff and very cheerful. Well located.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Sturnq: What a short and sweet review! It hit on all key areas! We are certainly glad to hear that our dedication to soundproofing our rooms is enjoyed by our guests. We hope to see you again on your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We had a great time there,The Staff went out of there way to make sure my Daughters wedding was everything she wanted,Can not say enough about the staff,waiters,waitresses,bar tenders and managers of the hotel,They greeted us in the restaraunt in the am to make sure everything went as planned,and yes it did:) Will be recomending this Hotel to all of my family & friends. Thank-you for making this special day AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Nomar326: We are certainly at a loss for words at the kindness of this review. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our wonderful staff we have here at the Salem Waterfront. We are so glad that your daughter's wedding was truly an awesome experience. I am happy and honored to share this review with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina

Address: 225 Derby Street, Salem, MA 01970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.