We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is ordinary....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naumkeag Ordinary

Naumkeag Ordinary
118 Washington Street, Salem, MA
978-744-4968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It is ordinary....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Atmosphere is good...and it is right in downtown Salem. But the menu is unexciting and food preparation is very conseravtive....safe...I had what was listed on the menu as a "Cuban Sandwich" but it really was little more than a ham and cheese sub without the lettuce and tomato...It did not taste bad at all...it was just pedestrian. This is a place I would take my 83 year old mother-in-law but or my brothers and sisters and tehy would enjoy it. I would not bring my foodie friends here...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My new favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Finally, a place to call "home," when it comes to a great, reasonably priced place to eat with really great beer. The food is excellent as is the service. The comfortable environment is also what is most appealing. The ambiance was good; the lighting and music were great and it was a perfect spot to go have drinks and some apps without having to yell over the noise to have a good conversation. Thanks for opening this and keep up the good work; we love it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Skilled Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I ordered two appetizers, the calamari and the arugala salad, which with some rolls made a really nice meal. The calamari were delicious with chili sauce and just enough breading to give it some crunch. The salad was a large bowl of baby arugula with blue cheese and bacon. Unlike other restaurants, they did not overwhelm the salad with the cheese but kept everything well-balanced. The food was prepared so skillfully that I would trust this restaurant for any dish. The prices were reasonable; I hope that they do not go under from undercharging!

I ordered a standard cocktail, which wasn't that great and appeared just before the food. This place is really about beer and there were a lot of interesting looking beers on draft.

My server was new and a little brusque, but that may improve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't pronounce it, but we loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here for dinner based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were NOT disappointed! I got the mac-n-cheese, which was yummy but heavy and there was LOTS of it! COuld have split it with mu kids. My daughter asked if she could have the "taco of the day" app as a dinner, she did and it was PLENTY of food. My son got the kids pasta, no big shakes, just elbow macaroni. I also got a few deviled eggs as an app, they were excellent.
The food was plentiful, yummy and very reasonably priced. The drinks were a a little expensive. My husband ordered a locally brewed beer on tap, it turned out to be $9.50 per pint, which we thought was a little steep, but the total amount of the check was very reasonable for a party of 4 with several drinks.
The server was polite and attentive. All in all, I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The mussels were amazing, the gnocchi was even better. Service was spot on. Yeah, not a hair outta place. Will SO be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naumkeag Ordinary also viewed

 

Been to Naumkeag Ordinary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naumkeag Ordinary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.