We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nathaniel's

Nathaniel's
Hawthorne Hotel, 18 Washington Sq. W., Salem, MA 01970-4056
978-825-4311
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nathaniel's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 217 restaurants in Salem
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Walking distance from the Salem MBTA commuter rail station.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Everything is awesome! Server David is excellent, almost all dinners are available in "Demi-portions" which is nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Mari-Ann J:

Thank you for sharing your experience not only on the Hawthorne Hotel Trip Advisor page, but our page specific to Nathaniel’s fine dining restaurant. Thank you for recognizing your server David’s exceptional work during your meal. I will be certain to share your comments not only with him and his supervisors, but the entire Hawthorne Hotel team.

Hopefully we will see you dining in Nathaniel’s again very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    102
    38
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 Star Food & Service at Very Affordable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After more than 25 visits to Nathaniel's and The Tavern, my wife and I have NEVER been disappointed with the quality of the meals, service and atmosphere. Whether you choose the upscale dining of Nathaniel's or the casual atmosphere of The Tavern, be prepared to be treated like Family! The quality, presentation and variety of their meals are excellent and their service is top notch. From a sandwich to a full course meal, you won't be disappointed, as the staff are always attentive. The Tavern, with it's fire place and cozy furniture is a must for a relaxing meal, the appetizers are all outstanding, especially the Wings! From fresh fish to superb Steaks, Nathaniel's is a 5 Star. Every entree is very tasty, so Sit back and be pampered !! The Tavern and Nathaniel's are well worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear P N:

We love to hear from our repeat guests! Thank you for your regular and continued patronage. I am pleased to hear that you have always received not only high quality service, but that the food never disappoints, and the atmosphere and comfort are exactly what you enjoy.

I truly appreciate your recognition of both the Tavern and Nathaniel’s. Our staff appreciates hearing that their consistently hard work is recognized by the guests they serve. I will be certain that they hear your compliments and high praise.

I am sure that we will see you again very soon at the Hawthorne, and we look forward to being of continued service to you.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food was well prepared and presentation was superb!
The waitstaff did everything to make us happy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Machman57:

Thank you for responding to the Hawthorne both on our hotel main page and our restaurant page. It is extremely helpful for Trip Advisor readers when guests take the time to respond to every aspect of their stay.

I am pleased to hear that everything was perfect with your meal from the cuisine to the staff. Thank you again for responding to your time with us.

Happy holidays,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The girls and I were excited to get to Nathaniel's early for fear of not getting a seat. The waitress was just lighting the evening candles...we were seated and treated to a amuse-bouche on the house from the chef! Tonight we enjoyed glasses of white wine, shrimp and scallops Sophia, half roasted chicken. I got the demi portion because dessert was in my plans! I got the coca creme brûlée which was so yummy I wanted to ask for the recipe. All in all this is in our plans to have our "girlfriend" Christmas get together dinner tradition!

NOTE: clean bathroom, ample seating, HELPFUL staff and cheerful decor!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear 2sistertravel:

I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience in Nathaniel’s. Thank you for including your photos! It is such a benefit to the restaurant when people can see a first- hand, visual account of a guest’s experience with us. I am glad everything was set to perfection while you dined with us.

In the future, if you would like some reassurance about getting a table, never hesitate to give us a call and make a reservation at 978.825.4311, or go on our website and click on the link to OpenTable to make your reservations there.

Hopefully we will see you again at the Hawthorne and Nathaniel’s very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Special Request? No Problem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

During a recent stay at the Hawthorne Hotel, I had the pleasure of dining in Nathaniel’s for several meals including a delicious breakfast and several evening meals. During the course of every meal, the staff was very attentive anticipating our every need whether it was a refill of coffee (it should be mentioned that the coffee at the Hawthorne Hotel is consistently wonderful and never burnt or bitter) or a topping up of our water glasses. Never once did we feel neglected or hurried as we lingered at our table. One of our meals was an early Thanksgiving Dinner that I had specially requested being as some of the friends that I was staying at the hotel with were leaving before Thanksgiving and it seemed only fitting that we celebrate early. Upon receiving the inquiry as to whether such a thing was even possible, Chef Steve and his staff said that it certainly was and they proceeded to put together an excellent meal complete with turkey and stuffing, mashed potatoes, butternut squash, fresh green beans, and all the fixin’s one could ever want from a traditional New England Thanksgiving dinner. For dessert we even had our choice of apple or pumpkin pie! The fact that the staff of Nathaniel’s could put something like that together for us on short notice and thereby make our stay at the Hawthorne Hotel even more special, just goes to prove that they go above and beyond to make their guests happy in every way possible.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear LindaOSki:

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review of your experiences throughout your recent stay at the Hawthorne.

We love reviews like yours that include wonderful photos of the meal. It does a huge service to Trip Advisor readers to be able to see what you are writing about in a review. It allows future diners to not only to be the judge for themselves, but helps you craft a more fulsome review.

Nothing is better than experiencing a traditional New England Thanksgiving and I am thrilled that Chef Steve and his team were able to provide that for you and your guests – regardless of timing. We strive to give our guests nothing short of a perfect stay at the Hawthorne and are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure their happiness. I will be certain to share your response with the entire team as it is always wonderful to have their hard work recognized by our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words. Hopefully we will see you again at the Hawthorne and Nathaniel’s very soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nathaniel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathaniel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.