We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza and local beer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Saucer Pizza Company

Flying Saucer Pizza Company
118 Washington Street, Salem, MA
978-594-8189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 217 restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and local beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great pizza! Interesting toppings, vegetarian and gluten-free options are available too. The beer list only has New England craft beers so this is a good way to get a taste of nearby breweries.If you are into sci-fi, you will appreciate the decor and the names of the menu items. I haven't tried the dessert pizza yet, but they sound fantastic. They deliver and have a slice of the day. Try them out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    24
    16
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Funky Pizza Selection = YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently had a most enjoyable dining experience at the Flying Saucer Pizza Company. There were 4 of us and when we first arrived, there were no tables available. 20 minute wait we were told (6PM on a Saturday, we more than half expected that). We were happily surprised, though when a couple offered us their seats at the bar as they were leaving. We settled in comfortably and were almost disappointed that a booth became available after only 5 minutes. Our waitress could not have been nicer or more attentive. The service, our pizzas (all different and "fun"ky!), and our overall experience there was great. We'll be back! :D

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE. Severely lacking in customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I always take the time to write reviews especially when we have an exceptional experience at various places; this time, it was the extreme opposite. Our experience at the Flying Saucer was probably one of the worst of all time. It started with the inexperienced and ignorant bartender. I understood it was her first Saturday and I can appreciate not knowing where things are or no knowing answers to all the questions. However, when you have customers seated at the bar you at the least acknowledge them: say "hello" or "I'll be right with you". She blatantly ignored us to clean and straighten glasses until we literally called her to come over. She had no idea about the wine selections and had no interest in perhaps finding any answers for us. We ordered 2 glasses of red (one cabernet, one pinot noir). She returns 10 minutes later and puts one glass in the middle of us. And as she is walking away we again call her back to find out what wine she served. She had no idea. She had to go get the bottle to show us as if she did not even know what was what. At this point we knew this was going to be a disaster. And it was. She took our pizza order and never returned. I asked for a glass of water which she never arrived with. So we were trying to make the best of it as our bartender with zero social skills hid in a corner. Just a side note, the bar was not busy....it was us and one other person. So we waited and waited...empty glasses no food. Close to an hour goes by and no one asks if we need anything or if we were doing okay and no status on our pizza. Finally a bar back arrives and we beg him to find out why our pizza is now over an hour in the making. He says he needs to ask the dreadful bartender. Of course he goes to get her but she never came back to us. This service was so horrendous I really thought we were on a hidden camera and it was a prank. Not only did this girl provide atrocious service to her customers, she could not even gets the drinks out for the table servers. She was a nightmare and that is being complimentary. As for the food, we never got our pizza. We left and got Thai food next door. I do not live in Salem but travel there often for various road races in the area. I would never consider returning to the Flying Saucer. Shame on the management to put someone behind the bar that is so incompetent and shame on the staff for not checking in on their customers. We were there early on a Saturday evening and the place was almost empty. There was no excuse for this. This entire establishment needs to learn customer service 101.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun concept, bland pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with this place. The server was very nice, the sci-fi concept was fun but the pizza was very tasteless. I even got the beer dough and I didn't see why everyone raves about it. Blah.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“L J's Flying Saucer trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent a few hours at Flying Saucer Pizza on 3/3/2013. L J and the staff took my wife and myself on a pizza and beer trip around the universe. Nicely located in historic Salem. With plenty of open space out front, I can't wait to go back and sit outside to enjoy eating, drinking and people watching. It's clean and has very fun sci fi decor. If you are looking for a fun and delicious place to go. Flying Saucer Pizza is the place to be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Saucer Pizza Company also viewed

 

Been to Flying Saucer Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Saucer Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.