We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit great, this visit, not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Station

Victoria Station
86 Wharf St, Salem, MA 01970
(978) 745-3400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victoria Station is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 212 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“First visit great, this visit, not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped by for a quick lunch last summer and enjoyed our food. Saw amazing plates coming out of the kitchen.
Brought some family back In Jan for lunch, with expectations for a another wonderful meal.
With business slow, they cut back to one waiter, who could not keep up. So, service was slow, food cold (saw lots of plates waiting in the pick-up window for long periods).
My chicken salad was supposed to have cranberries, squash and celery. It had chicken (which was very good) a few bits of celery but nothing else. Others in the party were not impressed with their sandwiches...
Did not check the bill closely (did not want to embarrass our guests, but it seemed way too high for what we ordered).
Too many other really good places to eat in Salem - don't know if we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    105
    62
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice spot on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great spot to go in the summer to sit outside. The food is decent, haven't tried too many things but the food did not wow me. The location did. I would go back and explore more dishes. Service was very good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of choices, good lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A family visit to the House of Seven Gables in late December drove our visit to Victoria Station for lunch. The decor is very comfortable and relaxing. The waitress and staff were pleasant. We shared an appetizer and enjoyed a selection of sandwiches, seafood, and steak. Several of us ate at the salad bar too. Our table was next to the fireplace, which gave off a lot of eat which was welcome considering the cold day. Victoria is a local favorite and well worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have gone to Victoria Station for lunch on New Years Day for 13 years in a row. Today the restaurant was extremely cold, I had to keep my jacket on as did other diners. It was so cold my hands were freezing. I asked the waitress and she said she'd turned the heat up but it was no warmer when we left. My baked potato was served cold and there were melon seeds in the apple/raisin dish at the salad bar. Overall Victoria Station has gone downhill since I began going there which is a shame as it's such a pretty location on a wharf overlooking the water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“MY NEW FAVORITE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place has been here for a while but I haven't been here in years. Well, I'm happy i went back. After being disappointed at some other local steak restaurants, i thought it was worth a try. The restaurant was clean, service was great and the steak was absolutely delicious. Cooked right, great portion and I didn't have to send anything back!!! Other people had prime rib and lobster mac and cheese also delish, and the fried seafood platter was huge and fresh.

This is a great casual location right on the water in Salem, and has just become a new favorite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.