We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but small and usually a wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Shanty

Lobster Shanty
25 Front St, At Artist's Row, Salem, MA 01970
9787455449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 214 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $3 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are a local dive bar that secretly has class. Great food, great service all served in a very casual atmosphere with absolutely no pretense.We're a little place with a big heart. The Shanty has been serving the Good People of Salem for 30 years and is a local institution.We welcome anyone who wants to come and relax with us. This is one place where you can let your freak flag fly. Our patio allows well-behaved dogs, we even have a doggie menu. Don't worry about bringing water bowls, we've got some.
Mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, but small and usually a wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently visited the Lobster Shanty with my wife and her family. We had to wait for about 30 minutes for a table outside. There was something available sooner inside, but it isn't air conditioned inside, so we waited for he outside table. They use flimsy plastic chairs and tabes outside, so it isn't the most comfortable. The staff is great, friendly and funny. The food was great. I got the lobster Mac and cheese, and it may be the best I have had, next to Vic's Station right down the street. Everyone else was happy with what they got as well. We were about to leave as the band started setting up, but thy have live musicians performing almost every night. Defiantly eat here if you are in town, but come early and make a reservation, or you will most likely have to wait. Also they are NOT open all year, so check their website or Facebook page before you visit to make sure they are opened.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    91
    40
    14
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat in the middle of Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Crowded but good place to eat. They had a band outdoors that we could hear inside as we ate. The wait staff was quick and friendly. Food was good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our third time in Salem and have always gone by this place wanting to check it out. We made the mistake to go. Drink selection was decent but no pumpkin ale in October in Salem. Place was small and crowded but we were able to get a seat inside. We ordered an app of fried calamari which was fried like they hadn't changed the oil in some time and very little seasoning. They only offered tarter sauce but only tasted like mayo. For our entrees I ordered Mac and cheese with lobster which was unimpressive. My wife ordered the fried fish sandwich which tasted very fishy and she decided not to eat it because she was afraid she would get sick. Her sweet potato fries were overcooked and lost all of their great flavor. I would not suggest this place to anyone. Spend the extra money and go to Gonzalez for seafood.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The chowder was very good. One bite of it was not enough. I wanted to eat my friends chowder. She wanted to go back for more. I had the macaroni and cheese with lobster. I ate every bit. I wish we had tie to go back. They also had boiled lobster for $12. We just didn't want to work that hard for our food. The lobster rolls at the other tables looked good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburtis, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went there initially on a recommendation from a local and was that the best choice we could have made! Drinks and food are reasonably priced! Got a lobster for $12.... definitely dont find that very often! It is also right in the heart of all the shops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.