We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Place

Fountain Place
232 Essex St, Salem, MA 01970-3765
978-744-9572
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 217 restaurants in Salem
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable and perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

On a drizzly day tour through Salem - we happened upon this spot for lunch. After ordering a cup of seafood chowder and half of a roast eef sandwich on rye, I was content. The chowder was superb!! (better than Red's - the local "best kept secret"). I have tasted many-a-chowder and this was top notch. The roast beef in the sandwich was also fresh and it's portion plentiful. Great stop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    19
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Show up before the busses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The quality of food is about average for primarily a breakfast place, but if all the tables are taken, be patient or aggravated.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Food was fair, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have been to the Fountain Place a few times, it's in a great location right at the corner of Essex & Washington. It's your typical breakfast place, nothing fancy. The service is good, the food is fair. Recently, my wife had french toast which was good, I had an omelet which was fair, they seemed to skimp on the inside (ham, cheese, peppers).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fountain Place..a great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

we tried this place and the food was fantastic!!!!! the turkey panini was out of this world, and the wait staff was friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. The prices are very reasonable and atmosphere was quaint. i would recommend this to everyone. try it and you will like this wonderful little place too..

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I go to this restaurant every time I am in Salem, the food is great, the price is nice, and the service is friendly.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fountain Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.