We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - food not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Gioia

Ristorante Gioia
140 Washington St, Salem, MA 01970-3542
978-744-7333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 182 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Barton Sq.
Transit: Washington St @ New Derby St (426/455, 450, 451, 455, 456, 459, 465, 468) New Derby St @ Klopp Alley (426/455, 451, 455, 459) New Derby St Opp Klop Alley (426/455, 451, 455, 459)
Salem, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great service - food not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very disapointed. Cesaer salad - bottled dressing, store bought croutons, no fresh parm, no hint of an anchovie. Glass of chianti was fine. Eggplant parm - my husband said was a B+, chicken piccata - chicken was a bit rubbery, flavors were good, mushrooms did not seem to be fresh bought. The restaurant was very nice, bright. The waitstaff (Kayla) was very sweet and accomodating. We gave her an A+. I think they need to work on the small things (dressings) - that would make a big difference.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Italian food in salem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Love this place! The food is always amazing! Great tasting, fresh, authentic Italian cuisine!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Cozy Italian eatery, chef/owner and great specials. We heard about the classic menu items here through Restaurant.com gift certificate program. We were informed that many new and return guests use these incentives. Food was filling and satisfying all around.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Friends told us about Gioia and invited us to join them for a meal. It was a Wednesday evening and there were few diners present, which always gives me an uneasy feeling. In any event, the waitress was excellent (Liz) as was the food. And it happened we got in on an early bird special: 2 meals for $26 that included one of the best salads I have ever been served, and two glasses of wine. I was so impressed I was compelled to go back and thank the chef for an excellent dining experience, for which he seemed most appreciative.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian Dining Experience North of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Located in downtown Salem, Massachusetts, Ristorante Gioia's food is great and it's ambiance is excellent. The service staff are always very friendly and the entrees and wine are reasonably priced. My partner and I have been to many so-called 'great Italian Restaurants' in the North End and Boston. To the surprise of many people, you need not have to go into the North End to find great Italian food. Ristorante Gioia offers superior food with a mouth watering Italian tomato sauce. We recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for excellent Italian food on the North Shore. What is also really nice about this restaurant is that there is usually never a wait. We arrive, we are seated, and we spend the night enjoying. It is one of Salem's best kept secrets.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Gioia also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Gioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.